Prem Final MFD 1

Uni and Wests To Meet In Premier Final

  • in General .

University of Queensland has the chance to complete a near perfect summer this weekend with the four-day my FootDr Premier Cricket Competition decider, starting at Allan Border Field on Saturday.

University has already taken out the First Grade Overall Championship, the Damien Mullins Cup, won the Club Championship and beat Western Suburbs in the Kookaburra Limited Overs final to claim the John McKnoulty Cup.

They are now into their sixth consecutive Premiership Final, after drawing with Valley in the semi-finals courtesy of my FootDr Queensland Bulls batsman Peter Forrest’s composed 113 not out.

Fellow Bulls squad member Nathan Reardon will also bolster Uni’s batting stocks, while left-arm paceman Scott Walter will lead the Students’ bowling attack with support from skipper and off-spinner Michael Philipson.

Both bowlers have been formidable this season – Walter leads the two-day wicket takers list with 42 scalps at 14.33, including three five-wicket hauls while all-rounder Philipson has supported with 21 wickets at 18.52.

For Western Suburbs, this is the chance to correct their recent four-day history with their last title in 2007-08. However, a last round victory over University has them well placed to challenge for the trophy.

Leading their revival is rookie Queensland batsman Sam Truloff and QAS 2nd XI fast bowler Brendan Doggett, who helped them into the final with 73 no and 4-19 respectively against Sandgate-Redcliffe in the semi-final.

Doggett’s older brother Samuel has been the club’s standout bowler of the summer, with 37 wickets at 15.70 in the two-day competition.

Ex-Queensland all-rounder Steve Paulsen, the club’s all-time leading runs-scorer, has been another of Wests’ danger men in the two-day comp, with 22 wickets and 596 runs, including one century.

Former Brisbane Heat all-rounder Chris Sabburg has also been in solid touch in the back half of the season along with former Sydney Premier Grade all-rounder Matt Foster.

2016-17 my FootDr Premier Cricket Competition Final, Allan Border Field

WESTERN SUBURBS: P. Collins (c) A. Atkinson, C. Sabburg, S. Truloff, S. Paulsen, M. Foster, S. McGiffin, J. Frew (wk), P. Dooley, S. Doggett, B. Doggett.

UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND: M Philipson (c), P Forrest, S Henry, B Davis, N Reardon, M Fry (wk), J Coetzee, D Endersby, J Chinn, S Walter, J Holliday.

Play starts 10am daily with the match played over this weekend and next weekend.