Players wear numbers across all forms of the game in Australian interstate cricket, being introduced in the world's premier domestic first class competition, the Bupa Sheffield Shield, in 2008-09.

It came at the strong urging of Queensland, who have long believed it important for spectators at the ground and those watching vision of games to be able to more readily identify the players in action.

The XXXX GOLD Bulls now wear maroon numbers and have their surnames emblazoned across the back of their shirt whites.

All players in Australia wear the same number in the Shield and Ryobi Cup competitions.

Numbers were introduced into one-day domestic cricket in 1996-97, and were adopted immediately by the KFC Twenty Big Bash when that competition began in 2005-06.

Queensland player numbers in 2013-14 are:


Number  XXXX GOLD Bulls Player
 4  Usman Khawaja
 8  Alister McDermott
 9  Greg Moller
 14  Luke Pomersbach
 15  Ben McDermott (Rookie)
 18  Chris Hartley
 20  Michael Neser
 23  Ronan McDonald (Rookie)
 31  Ben Cutting
 32  Matthew Gale
 36  Nathan Reardon
 38  Nathan Hauritz
 39  James Hopes
 42  Cameron Gannon
 45  Ryan Harris
 49 Cameron Boyce
 50 Chris Lynn
 52  Jason Floros
 54  Nick Buchanan (Rookie)
 57  Nick Stevens (Rookie)
 58  Luke Feldman
 59  Jimmy Peirson (Rookie)
 62  Joe Burns
 66  Peter Forrest