Brisbane will be the focal point for the opening of Australia’s highly anticipated Ashes campaigns later this year. The Gabba will host the opening Test of the Ashes from November 23-27 while Allan Border Field was today announced as the venue to host the first game in the Women’s Ashes series on 22 October. On the eve of International Women’s Day, Cricket Australia has today released the details of the 2017-18 Women’s Ashes Series between Australia and England which will feature the first ever Day-Night Women’s Ashes Test from 9-12 November 2017 in Sydney. Allan Border Field will host the opening ODI match of the series, the first time it has hosted a Women’s Ashes game. Queensland Cricket Chief Executive Officer Max Walters joined with Minister for Women Shannon Fentiman and inaugural Co-Patron of the WBBL Brisbane Heat team, for the Brisbane announcement today. Also present were Australian players Beth Mooney and Jess Jonassen, fresh from helping Australia retain the Rose Bowl ODI series against New Zealand on Sunday, and Queensland and Australian player Holly Ferling who is on the comeback trail from recent elbow surgery. Walters said that Allan Border Field would hopefully deliver a winning start to the Women’s Ashes in the same fashion as the Gabba has traditionally done for Australia in the opening Test of the summer. “The first game of the series often sets the tone for the series ahead and we are confident that a venue named in honour of one of Australia’s previous Ashes heroes in Allan Border, will deliver a similar outcome for this Australian team as it looks to retain the Ashes,’’ he said. “Of the eight women’s ODIs that have been played here at Allan Border Field, Australia has won all of them, so the importance of Brisbane to Australia’s hopes for both series is significant,’’ Walters said. Jonassen, who scored 99 and 54 to be player of the match in the one-off Ashes Test in England in 2015, welcomed the inclusion of Allan Border Field to the tour. “It’s a ground where Beth and I and Holly have played a lot of cricket and tasted success for Queensland the WBBL Heat so it will be sensational to start our bid to retain the Ashes in front of our friends and family,’’ she said. Mooney was named the player of the series for the Rose Bowl, becoming the first Queenslander to score a women’s ODI century for Australia in the opening game, and scoring half centuries in the other two matches to finish with 226 runs at 75.33. Minister for Women Shannon Fentiman said it was fantastic that the Women’s Ashes will be played in Brisbane. “On the eve of International Women’s Day, it’s great to see that Women’s Ashes will be played for the first time on Allan Border Field,” she said. “This will mean we can connect more young women and girls to first-class cricket and give them something they can aspire to.” Meanwhile Ferling has resumed bowling after having elbow surgery in January which ruled her out of the latter stages of the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League and the recent International T20 and One-Day contests against New Zealand. The Australian and England Cricket teams will contest three One-Day Internationals, one Test match and three Twenty20 Internationals, with the team that accumulates the most points across the series to be crowned the winner of the 2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series. The multi-format points system awards teams two points for an ODI or T20 win and four points for victory in the four-day Test match. It will not be the first time that Brisbane has hosted Australia and England in a women’s international with the Brisbane Exhibition Ground the venue of the first ever Women’s Test between the two countries in December 1934. England beat Australia by nine wickets in that match which went for three days. The Gabba also hosted Women’s Test matches between Australia and England in 1985 and 2003. 2017-18 Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series, Australia v. England First ODI – Allan Border Field, Brisbane – 22 October 2017 Second ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 26 October 2017 Third ODI – Coffs Harbour International Stadium – 29 October 2017 Test match (Day-Night) – North Sydney Oval – 9-12 November 2017 First T20 – North Sydney Oval – 17 November 2017 Second T20 – Manuka Oval, Canberra – 19 November 2017 Third T20 – Manuka Oval – 21 November 2017 Women’s Ashes Points System Test: Win – 4 points ODI: Win – 2 points T20: Win – 2 points