Cricket Australia has announced the Australia Under 17 team, following the conclusion of the 2017-18 Under 17 National Championships in Brisbane yesterday.

NSW Metro won for the second time in as many years, sweeping aside the challenge from Queensland to repeat the result of last season when the two teams met in the decider at Allan Border Field.

Queensland fought hard as NSW made 6-272 but their run chase never clicked into gear, dismissed for 132 and losing by 141 runs.

Wicket-keeper Harry Walker, who claimed the most dismissals for the tournament with 10, top-scored with 29 for the Maroons.

Following the Final, the Youth Selection Panel selected a 14-player squad, which will represent the Cricket Australia XI at this summer’s Under 19 National Championships, to be played in Tasmania in December.

Towering left-arm University of Queensland pace bowler Matthew Willans was the only Queenslander named in the squad.

Australia Under 17 Squad

Kyle Brazell,Cricket Australia XI 

Damien Burrage,Western Australia

Oliver Davies,NSW Metro

Will Fort,ACT/NSW Country

Mackenzie Harvey,VIC Metro

Josh Hoffmann,South Australia

Thomas Kelly,South Australia

Liam Marshall,NSW Metro

Todd Murphy,VIC Country

Dominic O’Shannessy,ACT/NSW Country

Patrick Rowe,VIC Country

Ajay Singh,NSW Metro

Matthew Willans,Queensland

Glenn Winsor,ACT/NSW Country

Ryan Harris and Matthew Elliott will act as coach and assistant coach respectively for the team at the Under 19 National Championships.

Cricket Australia National Talent Manager and National Selection Panel member Greg Chappell said:

“The most pleasing feature of this year’s Under 17 National Championships has been the quality of the batting, which I think has been as good as it has been for some time,” Chappell said.

“These boys will go on to play as a team at the Under 19 National Championships, and will come into calculations for the Australia Under 19 team that goes to New Zealand in January to play in the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup.

“Some of the boys that have been in Australian teams for the last couple of years are still showing through well - Liam Marshall and Oliver Davies from New South Wales, and Mackenzie Harvey and Patrick Rowe from Victoria.

“All of the players selected are very exciting young cricketers who have performed well at this carnival, and we look forward to seeing how they step up at the next level.”

The squad features three players from the title-winning NSW Metro team, and one from runners-up, Queensland.

Three Victorians feature, two from the Country squad and one from Metro, plus three players ACT/NSW Country, one from Western Australia and three from South Australia - including Cricket Australia XI representative Kyle Brazell.

Brazell was not only the Under 17 tournament’s leading run-scorer, but also the Player of the Championships, winning with 25 votes ahead of fellow Australia Under 17 squad members Todd Murphy (19 votes) and Oliver Davies (18 votes).

In the squad for the second consecutive year are Victorian duo Mackenzie Harvey and Patrick Rowe, while the tournament’s leading wicket-taker - ACT/NSW Country’s Dominic O’Shannessy - also features.

In the remaining individual awards from the Under 17 National Championships, NSW Metro’s Liam Scott was named Player of the Final, while Queensland’s Harry Walker claimed the most dismissals. Victoria Country won the Spirit of Cricket Award.

Under 17 National Championships Award Winners

Player of the Tournament:Kyle Brazell (Cricket Australia XI)

Player of the Final:Liam Scott (NSW Metro)

Highest Run Scorer:Kyle Brazell (Cricket Australia XI) - 417 runs at 59.57 

Leading Wicket Taker:Dominic O’Shannessy (ACT/NSW Country) - 16 wickets at 13.63

Most Dismissals:Harry Walker (Queensland) - eight catches, two stumpings

Spirit of Cricket:Victoria Country