Queensland Cricket has today announced that Judge Sal Vasta will take over as Chairman of the Board in place of the long-serving Jim Holding. Mr Holding, a Director since 2006 and Chairman since 2010, informed the Board of his decision to step down ahead of last night’s Ordinary General Meeting. He was recently appointed one of global law firm DLA Piper’s two Co-Managing Partners in Australia and made his decision to resign as Chairman in light of this appointment. Mr Ian Mitchell, one of the three independently appointed Directors on the Board, is the new Deputy Chairman. Delegates at the OGM last night also ratified the appointment of former Queensland wicket-keeper Wade Seccombe as a Director, taking over from Allan Border AO. Allan became a Director in 2001 and was awarded Life Membership in 2010 after an illustrious playing career that saw him become Australia’s most capped Test captain. The OGM confirmed Mr Seccombe’s place on the Board until 2019. In addition to his elite cricket background as a player and coach, Mr Seccombe is Managing Director of two signage companies. The new Chairman congratulated both Mr Holding and Mr Border on their outstanding contributions to cricket in Queensland and welcomed Mr Seccombe to the Board. “Jim has led the Board astutely and courageously during his time as Chairman and we thank him sincerely for his significant personal commitment to Queensland Cricket,’’ Judge Vasta said. “He was a strong advocate for embracing the introduction of the KFC Big Bash League and creation of the Brisbane Heat and provided exceptional advice and direction as this became a reality. Certainly he can reflect most favorably on the success the Heat has become. “Jim also was a steadfast and passionate advocate for the grassroots and cricket’s outstanding volunteer base which provides so many advantages for the game in Queensland.” “The Board and indeed Queensland Cricket as a whole, has benefited immeasurably from the influence and stature of Allan Border as a Director. A legend of the game, ‘AB’ has been a generous and willing Director throughout and his insights, experience and determination have been vital when meeting difficult and challenging issues.” “On behalf of my Fellow Directors, Staff and the wider Queensland Cricket community, I offer Jim and Allan our sincere thanks for their enormous contribution. They move on to new challenges with the knowledge that they have left the game in a better place.” Judge Vasta thanked Mr Seccombe for his willingness to offer his knowledge and skills to the Board. “Wade’s reputation as a player, a coach and an astute businessman are second to none, and we look forward to him bringing his renowned energy and enthusiasm to the Board room,’’ he said. Mr Holding graciously acknowledged the Board, staff and delegate body for their support during his time as a Director. “It has been an immense honour and privilege to be your Chairman,’’ he said. “It is a position that I have cherished and I thank you for the opportunity. Although leaving this position has filled me with some regret and sorrow, I take solace knowing that this fabulous institution is in better hands than mine,” Mr Holding said. Judge Vasta, a Federal Circuit Court Judge since 2015, joined the Board in 2011 and was elected Deputy Chairman in the same year after a long career as a player and administrator with South Brisbane. “I’m humbled to be given this honour and will do my utmost to enable Queensland Cricket to meet our strategic goals and help cricket be Australia’s favourite sport and a sport for all Australians,’’ he said. Mr Mitchell, a former CEO of Tourism Queensland, has extensive experience as a Non-Executive Director on both government and private sector boards including tourism, travel, arts and skills development. He joined the QC Board along with fellow independents Mr Mark Gray and Ms Fiona Hannan in 2015. The Board will consider nominees from the Delegate body in due course as the replacement Director for Mr Holding. The QC Board of Directors comprises Judge Sal Vasta (Chairman), Ian Mitchell (Deputy Chairman), Tom Frankling, Mark Gray, Fiona Hannan, Barry Jansen, Wade Seccombe and Kerren Smith.