For the second year in a row, Queensland Premier Cricket has saluted two first-time winners of Peter Burge and Kath Smith Medals at tonight�s annual presentation of trophies at the Gabba.

University of Queensland captain Michael Philipson and Gold Coast Dolphins allrounder Abigail Godfrey claimed the major individual player awards as the best and fairest players in the my Foot DR Premier Cricket competition and the Katherine Raymont Shield women�s Premier competition for the 2016-17 season.

Philipson joins his older brother Craig as a Burge Medallist, the first time in the award�s history that brothers have claimed the honour, after Craig took out the 2008-09 Medal.

He is the fourth player from University to win the Burge Medal, after Andrew Courtice (1992-93) and Scott Walter (2014-15).

Philipson, 30, has played four first class games for the my FootDr Queensland Bulls as well as representing the Queensland Academy of Sport in the Toyota Futures League 2nd XI competition.

The allrounder scored 873 runs across all three formats at an average of 51.35, including three centuries and three half centuries, as well as taking 33 wickets at 18.30.

He started the season with consecutive scores of 157, 61, 74 and 100 not out.

As skipper, he led the Blues to the Limited Overs title (John McKnoulty Cup) and the Minor Premiership (Damien Mullins Cup).

Philipson finished on 47 points, ahead of Valley allrounder Andrew Gode (41) and a trio of players on 37 points in Sunshine Coast allrounder Alecz Day, Wynnum-Manly allrounder Cameron Trask and Valley wicket-keeper Lachlan Pfeffer.

In a night for allrounders, 20-year-old Abigail Godfrey won the Kath Smith Medal for the first time, finishing on 27 points, four points ahead of Gold Coast teammate and Konica Minolta Queensland Fire star Delissa Kimmince.

Godfrey, a Brisbane Heat contracted player in the inaugural season of the Rebel Women�s Big Bash League last year, finished as the leading run-scorer in the Katherine Raymont Shield for the premiers, finishing with 459 runs at 35.31.

An opening bat and leg-spinner, Godfrey is a former Australian Under-18 player.

Kimmince, a two-time winner of the Smith Medal, was second on 23 points while her Fire and Heat teammates Tess Cooper (Sandgate-Redcliffe) and Jess Jonassen (University of Queensland) were a point behind on 22 points. Former Queensland player Megan White (Valley) was fifth with 19 points.

Cooper, who made her Shooting Stars Australian U23 debut last month on the tour of Sri Lanka, hit her first century during the season.

Kimmince was the second leading runs-scorer with a highlight her individual score of 169, the second highest in the competition�s history.

The Peter Burge Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest cricketer in the my FootDr First Grade Competition as judged by the premier grade umpires.

The award is named in honour of Peter Burge, one of Queensland’s finest home-grown batsman. Burge enjoyed a 15-year Sheffield Shield career, scoring 7,627 runs at an average of 56.08, including 24 centuries, in 91 matches. He captained Queensland 29 times. He also played 42 Test matches for Australia, scoring 2,290 runs at 38.16, including four centuries.

The Kath Smith Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest women’s cricketer playing in Queensland Premier Grade Competition known as the Katherine Raymont Shield, as judged by the umpires.

The award is named in honour of Kath Smith, who played six Tests for Australia in the 1930s and was vice-captain of the Australian team that played the very first women’s Test against England at the Brisbane Exhibition Ground in December 1934 and for the two subsequent Test matches played during January 1935 in Sydney and Melbourne.

She was also the vice-captain of the Australian team for the tour to England in 1937, again playing in the three Test matches played.

2016-17 Peter Burge Medal
Michael Philipson, University of Queensland � 47 points
Andrew Gode, Valley � 41 points
Alecz Day, Sunshine Coast � 37 points
Cameron Trask, Wynnum-Manly � 37 points
Lachlan Pfeffer, Valley � 37 points

2016-17 Kath Smith Medal
Abigail Godfrey, Gold Coast � 27 points
Delissa Kimmince, Gold Coast � 23 points
Tess Cooper, Sandgate-Redcliffe � 22 points
Jess Jonassen, University of Queensland � 22 points
Megan White, Valley � 19 points

Other Awards
Bob Spence Medal (Umpires) � Peter Boland
Clem Jones Perpetual Volunteer award � Mark French, President of Redlands Cricket Club
Most improved player in Premier Cricket 21 years & under: Bryce Street (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
STA Groundsman of the year: John Macfarlane (Redlands)
Most improved: Jonathon Walker: (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
First Grade Wicket & Ground: John Macfarlance (Redlands)