The state's Open Women's team, the Queensland Lightning, were crowned champions alongside the Queensland 21 and Male side.

Lightning star Krystal Opperman was named player of the match in the women's final, scoring 18 runs and claiming two wickets, as Queensland defeated Victoria 81 to 59.

It was a comfortable win for Queensland’s 21 & Under Men, who defeated Western Australia Black 91 to 40, on the back of 14 runs and three wickets to Player of the Final Hamish Chapman. Fellow Queenslander Ryan Dowse won the Player of the Series award.

The Men's Open and Under 21 Female teams went down in tight finals to the ACT and Victoria. 

Queensland was well represented in the four national teams named who are set to compete at the 2017 WICF Indoor Cricket World Cup in Dubai. 

Australia is the reigning champion in each division, and will set out to defend its titles in September.

Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket Manager, Briana Binch, said:

“It’s really pleasing for us to be able to select four strong teams to represent Australia at this year’s Indoor Cricket World Cup, as we look to maintain our status as world champions,” Binch said.

“The standard of competition across all the Open divisions was extremely high. With the addition of the Beastwear National Indoor Cricket League this year, our leading indoor cricketers are being exposed to more opportunities to test their skills at a high level, which is great to see.

“This year, we have seen a record number of players and teams compete at the National Championships, and by combining the Junior and Open Divisions for the first time, we have been able to showcase the Pathway that’s available for aspiring indoor cricketers.

“Mackay has been a fantastic host for these championships, and we thank the Mackay Regional Council, Mackay Indoor Sports Arena and all our officials, players and supporters who have helped to make this year’s National Championships an overwhelming success."

Australian Squads

Open Men’s: Vinesh Bennett, Benji Floros, Matthew Floros, Tim Floros, Luke Ryan (ACT); Rhys Dearness, Rob Fitzgerald, Jay Otto, Lyle Teske (QLD); Travis Baker, Justin Perkins (VIC); Chris Chellew (WA). Coach: Ross Gregory. Assistant Coach: Rob Boiston. Manager: Billy Floros.

Open Women’s: Claire Koski (NSW); Dulane Carson, Jude Coleman, Ashleigh Doble, Meagan Dixon, Krystal Oppermann (QLD); Neisha Iles, Stacey Oates, Kylie Rattray (SA); Nicole Martin, Briony Polkinghorne, Laura Shaw (VIC). Coach: Donna Dalby. Manager: Maleah Harris. Specialist Coaches: Wendy Kemp & Tahnee Norris.

21 & Under Men’s: Alexander Floros, Tyler Hays (ACT); Hamish Chapman, Jeremy Crighton, Ryan Dowse, Adrian Lascu, Blaine Schloss, Matt Schubert (QLD); Jamie Diener, Zachary Schwarz (SA); Joshua Fontana, Blair Oakley (WA). Coach: Brenton Brien. Assistant Coach: Tony Panecasio. Manager: Grant MacQuarrie.

21 & Under Women’s: Samantha Arnold, Amy Riddell (NSW); Zeldine Barnard, Samantha Dixon, Courtney Hewitt, Emily Vallance, Alexandra Weeks (Queensland); Ainslee Knight (SA); Adelaide Campion, Amy Jennings, Chloe Rafferty, Maddie Wright (VIC). Coach: Cindy Kross. Manager: Melissa Horn. Specialist Coaches: Wendy Kemp & Tahnee Norris.

Open Division Champions & Award Winners

Open Men’s
Final: ACT 84 def Queensland 75
Alan Wilson Medal (Player of the Series): Luke Ryan (ACT)
Player of the Final: Brock Winkler (ACT)

Open Women’s
Final: Queensland 81 def Victoria 59
Monika Brogan Medal (Player of the Series): Danielle Montague (VIC)
Player of the Final: Krystal Opperman (QLD)

21 & Under Men’s
Final: Queensland 91 def WA Black 40
Player of the Series: Ryan Dowse (QLD)
Player of the Final: Hamish Chapman (QLD)

21 & Under Women’s
Final: Victoria Blue 74 def Queensland 66
Player of the Series: Maddie Wright (VIC Blue)
Player of the Final: Maddie Wright (VIC Blue)

Lord’s Taverners Shield
Final: South Australia 205 def Victoria 17
Player of the Series: Scott May (SA)
Player of the Final: Scott May (SA)

International Men’s Player of the Year: Tim Floros (ACT)

International Women’s Player of the Year: Briony Polkinghorne (VIC)

Indoor Cricket Hall of Fame Inductee: Greg Donnelly

Junior Champions

17 & Under Boys: Queensland

17 & Under Girls: Queensland

15 & Under Boys: Victoria Blue

14 & Under Girls: Victoria Blue

13 & Under Boys: NSW Cyclones