Cricket network logo
Queensland Bulls Logo Queensland Fire Logo Brisbane Heat Logo

Male Pathway

U16s Male State Challenge 2018

Queensland Cricket is pleased to announce the 4 teams that will compete in the 2018 U16 State Challenge.

Under 16 Male State Challenge

The Challenge is an official part of the Queensland Cricket Pathway and provides opportunity for 48 of the states most talented players to showcase their skills after being identified during the 2017/18 season. The Challenge will be another opportunity for players to showcase their skills in front of Queensland Cricket’s State Selection Panel, Talent Officers, and U17 Coaching Staff. The QLD U17 winter training squad will be named in June 2018.

Dates: 4th to 6th April 2018

Location: Redlands Cricket Club, EGW Wood Sportsfield, 347-371 Birkdale Road (Cnr Wood Lane), Wellington Point, 4160, Queensland, Australia


2018 Champions: QLD Infernos

State Challenge Final:

QLD Infernos

184 (11 wickets) H.Burdon 39, W.Trigar 39, W.Sanders 4/30 & M.Pascoe 3/34

def QLD Burners

154 (11 wickets) N.B.McPhee 28, H.Burdon 2/16 & W.Trigar 2/34

Player of the Challenge: Will Sanders (QLD Burners)


Below is a wrap-up of the State Challenge;





2018 State Challenge Teams are listed below:

QLD Blaze
1. James Hurst  Metro South West/University of QLD CC
2. Dylan McAteer  South East QLD/Ipswich-Logan DCC
3. Nick McGill  Brisbane North/Valley DCC
4. Connor McNeven  Metro South West/University of QLD CC
5. Christian Murphy (wk)  Brisbane North/Valley DCC
6. Will Prestwidge  Brisbane North/Northern Suburbs DCC
7. Joseph Rangiah  Metro South West/Southern Districts CC
8. Seb Rodwell  Metro South West/University of QLD CC
9. Joshua Schaumburg  BEARS/Southern Districts CC
10. Joshua Smith  BEARS/Wynnum-Manly DCC
11. Jed Wilson  BEARS/Wynnum-Manly DCC
12. Danny Young  Brisbane North/Toombul DCC
QC Coaches: Jude Coleman & Graham Power
Assistant Coach: Steve Collins
QLD BULLS: Sam Truloff (Thursday Afternoon)


QLD Burners
1. Lachlan Bell Metro South West/Western Suburbs DCC
2. Connor Carroll BEARS/Wynnum-Manly DCC
3. Dylan Kritzinger BEARS/Redlands DCC
4. Jet Liebke (wk) Brisbane North/Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC
5. Andrew Martinez-Harris BEARS/Redlands DCC
6. Noah McFadyen Brisbane North/Northern Suburbs DCC
7. Nick McPhee Brisbane North/Valley DCC
8. Ned Paddison Brisbane North/Northern Suburbs DCC
9. Mitch Pascoe Brisbane North/Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC
10. Will Sanders Brisbane North/University of QLD CC
11. Toby Snell (wk) Brisbane North/Northern Suburbs DCC
12. Aubrey Stockdale Brisbane North/Toombul DCC
13. Ryan Walker  Brisbane North/Toombul DCC
QC Coach: Jamie Fenech
Assistant Coaches: John Powell & Chris Davies
QLD BULLS: Sam Truloff (Thursday morning)


QLD Flames
1. Bingen Balanzategui North Queensland
2. Justin Bunker Wide Bay
3. Nick Carroll Mackay-Whitsundays
4. Mitch Doolan Mackay-Whitsundays
5. Archer Halliday Brisbane North/Valley DCC
6. Issac Kelsey Wide Bay
7. Nick Laffey Wide Bay
8. Jack Sinfield Gold Coast DCC
9. Jason Swart Sunshine Coast
10. Hamish Swindley North Queensland
11. Matt Watson (wk) Sunshine Coast
12. Matt Wiseman  North Queensland
QC Coaches: Phil Robinson & Bruce Deem
Assistant Coach: Kim Evetts & Peter McLean
QLD BULLS: Sam Truloff (Wednesday & Friday)


QLD Infernos
1. Riley Bichel  South East QLD/Ipswich-Logan DCC
2. Hugo Burdon  Gold Coast DCC
3. Max Carlyon  Metro South West/Western Suburbs DCC
4. Travis Busch North QLD
5. Josh Creevey  South East QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC
6. Cody Durante (wk)  Gold Coast DCC
7. Jack Hocart  Gold Coast DCC
8. Sam Neale  Darling Downs & SWQ/Ipswich-Logan DCC
9. Ky Newitt  Gold Coast DCC
10. Harry Sweeney  Brisbane North/Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC
11. Will Trigar  South East QLD/Ipswich-Logan DCC
12. Jacob Waters South East QLD/Ipswich-Logan DCC 
13. Harrison Weir  Darling Downs & SWQ/Western Suburbs DCC
QC Coach: Richard Griffiths
Assistant Coaches: Rob Milde & Grant Lutz
QLD BULLS: Sam Truloff (Wednesday & Friday)