Konica Minolta Queensland Cricket stars Beth Mooney and Delissa Kimmince hope to have their home crowd roaring from the rafters after being named today in a 13-player Australian squad to take on New Zealand in the three-match Women’s T20 International Series starting on 29 September.

Australia will play the White Caps in the second match of the series at Allan Border Field on Monday 1 October.

While there was delight for the two Queenslanders, fellow Fire player Jess Jonassen was not as fortunate after suffering a knee injury this week during a practice game on the Gold Coast.

She is undergoing assessment this week and Australian Team Physiotherapist Kate Mahony said:

“Jess sustained a knee injury in Australia’s internal trial match on the Gold Coast this week. As a result, she will undergo arthroscopic surgery later in the week, when we will have a better idea of her return to play timeframe.”

“It was pretty innocuous, to be honest,” Australia coach Matthew Mott said on Wednesday of Jonassen’s injury.

“A lot of us thought she’d tripped over the ball, but she heard a little pop and she’s had that before, so she came straight off and iced it and we looked after it”.

The extent of the injury and Jonassen’s likely recovery time won’t be known until after the Queenslander goes under the knife, but Australia coach Matthew Mott is hopeful the left-arm spinner can return in time for their World T20 campaign in the Caribbean from November 9.

Australia will travel to play Pakistan in Malaysia ahead of the ICC tournament, for three ODIs and three T20Is between October 18-29.

“We’re a bit unsure at the moment, she’s going to see the surgeon on Thursday, so it’s a bit of speculation at the moment just how long she’s out for,” Mott said.

“But she’s keeping really positive. She’s been through the process before. The best case scenario we’re looking at is hopefully (a return) for the back end of the Malaysia tour against Pakistan for her to join the squad.

“She’s reasonably confident and the good thing is she’s done a lot of work in the off-season, so her body’s really strong to be able to get through that rehabilitation.”

Rising Konica Minolta Queensland Fire player Josie Dooley, a WBBL Brisbane Heat rookie player, will also have the chance to build on her early season momentum, named in a Cricket Australia XI to take on Australia and New Zealand in two respective T20 fixtures on 27 September.

The Australian Women’s squad is as follows (WBBL|03 club in brackets):

1. Nicola Carey (Sydney Thunder)
2. Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers)
3. Rachael Haynes (vc) (Sydney Thunder)
4. Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers)
5. Delissa Kimmince (Brisbane Heat)
6. Meg Lanning (c) (Perth Scorchers)
7. Sophie Molineux (Melbourne Renegades)
8. Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat)
9. Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers)
10. Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers)
11. Elyse Villani (Perth Scorchers)
12. Tayla Vlaeminck (Melbourne Renegades)
13. Georgia Wareham (Melbourne Renegades)

Selectors have also named a Cricket Australia XI to take on Australia and New Zealand in two respective T20 fixtures on 27 September. The squad is as follows:

1. Nicole Bolton (c) (Perth Scorchers)
2. Maitlan Brown (Melbourne Renegades)
3. Lauren Cheatle (Sydney Sixers)
4. Josie Dooley (Brisbane Heat – U18 Rookie)
5. Heather Graham (Perth Scorchers)
6. Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers)
7. Naomi Stalenberg (Sydney Thunder)
8. Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades)
9. Annabel Sutherland (Melbourne Stars)
10. Rachel Trenaman (Sydney Thunder)
11. Belinda Vakarewa (Sydney Thunder)
12. Amanda-Jade Wellington (Adelaide Strikers)
Tickets to the season are available for $15 for adults, $10 for concession and free for kids*. Full prices for the season and details on how to buy tickets are available at www.cricket.com.au/tickets.
Commonwealth Bank Women’s T20 International Series Fixture
29 September: 1st T20, Australia v New Zealand, North Sydney Oval, Sydney
1 October: 2nd T20, Allan Border Field, Brisbane
5 October: 3rd T20, Manuka Oval, Canberra