He is the latest Queenslander to earn selection in the CA officiating panels and will link with National Umpire panel representatives Donovan Koch and Bruce Oxenford.

His elevation coincides with the departure of regular panel appointee David Taylor, who has moved back to NSW after being in Queensland for the past six seasons.

Taylor, who stood in the KFC Queensland Premier Grade Final as his final appointment with Queensland, has retained his place on the CA Supplementary Panel.

Koch has also been retained on the International Panel which can be nominated to the ICC to stand in men’s international matches.

Dionysius started umpring at the age of 29 and has made rapid progress through the ranks.

His first grade debut in Premier Cricket came alongside former first class umpire and current National Umpires selector Damian Mealey and he went on to stand in the 2020-21 Premier Cricket Final as well as officiate in the final of the 2019 National Under-19 titles.

Cricket Australia 2022-23 National Umpire Panel: Gerard Abood, Shawn Craig, Greg Davidson, Phil Gillespie, Mike Graham-Smith, Nathan Johnstone, Donovan Koch, Simon Lightbody, Sam Nogajski, Bruce Oxenford, Ben Treloar, Paul Wilson

Supplementary Umpire Panel: Stephen Dionysius, Sharad Patel, Troy Penman, Claire Polosak, Eloise Sheridan, David Taylor

International Panel Umpires (nominated to ICC as umpires for men’s international matches): Phil Gillespie, Donovan Koch, Sam Nogajski, Paul Wilson

International Panel of ICC Development Umpires (nominated to ICC as eligible umpires for women’s international matches/events): Claire Polosak, Eloise Sheridan