The 18-year-old off-spinner, who graduated Year 12 recently from The Southport School, has been named in the Queensland Bulls squad for the first time ahead of next week’s Marsh Sheffield Shield match.

The Gold Coast product will travel with the Queensland squad to Adelaide on Sunday to prepare for Tuesday’s important match against South Australia at one of two Adelaide venues.

Depending on how the Adelaide Strikers fare in the final regular season games of the Weber Women’s Big Bash League, Queensland will either play at Adelaide Oval or the traditionally batting-friendly Karen Rolton Oval.

Sinfield is no stranger to being elevated to higher levels at this time of the year. He was signed as a replacement player for the Brisbane Heat last year as a 17-year-old and spent the first four weeks of the tournament training and preparing with the team.

Sinfield, a Queensland Under-17 and Under-19 representative in recent seasons, has been playing for Redlands in the KFC Queensland Premier Cricket competiton this summer while completing his final exams of his schooling.

As well as his selection in the Bulls squad, he is expected to be a contender for the Australian under-19 squad that is set to contest the Under-19 World Cup in the West Indies early next year following its confirmation last week by the ICC.

He joins a Bulls squad containing Ashes candidates Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee and Bryce Street following their selection in Test and Australia ‘A’ squads this week.

Queensland currently sits in third spot on the Shield ladder, with their most recent outing an innings loss to Western Australia at the Gabba last week.

The Bulls will also play a Marsh One Day Cup game against the Redbacks on Sunday at a venue to be confirmed in Adelaide, pending the outcome of the WBBL Finals scenarios.

Marsh Sheffield Shield

Queensland v South Australia

Adelaide Oval or Karen Rolton Oval

Tues - Friday

Usman Khawaja (c)

James Bazley

Joe Burns

Matthew Kuhnemann

Marnus Labuschagne

Jimmy Peirson

Matthew Renshaw

Gurinder Sandhu

Jackson Sinfield

Mark Steketee

Bryce Street

Jack Wildermuth

(12th man to be named)

Match streamed live on and Kayo