Queensland today announced their squad for Sunday’s season opener against NSW at Allan Border Field, with Test batting revelation Labuschagne and paceman Neser selected for the matches against the Blues and South Australia on Tuesday.
Fellow Ashes tourist Usman Khawaja will be rested for the opening games with a view to possible selection for the away series of one-day matches against Victoria on 29 September and 1 October.
Queensland Chairman of Selectors Justin Sternes said an assessment on whether the Ashes duo played on Sunday would be left until after they had consulted with the players following their return to Brisbane tonight.
“It’s more likely they would play on Tuesday once they have had some time to rest and recuperate, but we will see how they pull up and make a final call closer to the NSW game,’’ he said.
The Bulls yesterday completed their final pre-season practice game with a huge batting effort against the National Indigenous Squad.
Queensland amassed 8-431 from their 50 overs at Caloundra, with centuries to Sam Heazlett and Nathan McSweeney and half centuries to Matt Renshaw and Max Bryant.
Batsman Charlie Hemphrey, who played County cricket alongside Labuschagne at Glamorgan during the northern summer, sealed his spot in the squad with a century for Sandgate-Redcliffe in the second round of the Sci-Fleet Motors One Day competition on the weekend.
Queensland will train tomorrow between 9am and 12pm at Allan Border Field.
Bulls captain Jimmy Peirson and Konica Minolta Queensland Fire captain Kirby Short will be available for a joint media opportunity on Friday at 11am at Allan Border Field ahead of the opening weekend for both Queensland teams.
The Fire play their opening Women’s National Cricket League one-day match on Saturday at Norman Gray Oval at Fairfield against WA and then take on Tasmania on Monday at the same venue.
Admission is free for all Marsh One Day Cup and WNCL matches in Queensland this season.
Marsh One Day Cup
Queensland Bulls v NSW Blues
Sunday, 22 September, 9.30am
59. Jimmy Peirson (c)
19. Xavier Bartlett
15. Joe Burns
17. Max Bryant
42. Cameron Gannon
47. Sam Heazlett
44. Charlie Hemphrey
30. Matthew Kuhnemann
9. Marnus Labuschagne
20. Michael Neser
77. Matt Renshaw
37. Billy Stanlake
16. Mark Steketee
24. Jack Wildermuth
Broadcast live on Fox Cricket & Kayo Sports.

2019-20 Marsh One Day Cup
Queensland Bulls Matches (Qld times)

Sun 22 Sept: Queensland v New South Wales, Allan Border Field 9:30AM (Fox Sports)
Tues 24 Sept: Queensland v South Australia, Allan Border Field, 9:30AM (Fox Sports)
Sun 29 Sept: Victoria v Queensland, CitiPower Centre (MEL), 10AM         (Fox Sports)
Tues 1 Oct: Victoria v Queensland, CitiPower Centre (MEL), 10AM (Fox Sports)
Wed 23 Oct: Queensland v South Australia, Allan Border Field, 10:00AM (TBC)
Thurs 31 Oct: Queensland v Western Australia, Metricon Stadium (GC), 10:00AM (Fox Sports)
Mon 18 Nov: Tasmania v Queensland, Blundstone Arena, 9AM (Fox Sports)
Tues 26 Nov TBC - FINAL (1)        TBC - FINAL (2)  TBC        TBC        TBC        TBC        Fox Sports

2019-20 Marsh Sheffield Shield
Queensland Bulls Matches

Thurs 10 Oct–Sun, 13 Oct: Queensland v New South Wales, Gabba
Fri 18 Oct–Mon, 21 Oct: Queensland v South Australia, Gabba
Sat 2 Nov–Tues, 5 Nov: Queensland v Western Australia, Gabba
Tues 12 Nov– Fri, 15 Nov: Victoria v Queensland, MCG
Fri 29 Nov– Mon 2 Dec: Tasmania v Queensland, Blundstone Arena
Sat 7 Dec– Tues, 10 Dec: New South Wales v Queensland, SCG
Fri 14 Feb–Mon, 17 Feb: Queensland v Tasmania, Gabba
Mon 24 Feb–Thurs, 27 Feb: Queensland v Victoria, Gabba
Fri 6 Mar–Mon, 9 Mar: Western Australia v Queensland, WACA
Tues 17 Mar–Fri, 20 Mar: South Australia v Queensland, Karen Rolton Oval (ADL)
Fri 27 Mar–Tues, 31 Mar: TBC - FINAL (1)              TBC - FINAL (2)  TBC

2019-20 WNCL
Konica Minolta Queensland Fire Matches (Qld times)

9.30am, Saturday, 21 September 2019: Qld Fire v WA, South Brisbane DCC               
9.30am, Monday, 23 September 2019: Qld Fire v Tasmania, South Brisbane DCC    
9am, Tuesday, 7 January 2020: ACT v Qld Fire, Blacktown International SportsPark 2             
9am, Thursday, 9 January 2020: NSW v Qld Fire, Blacktown International SportsPark 1 (SYD)
9am, Tuesday, 21 January 2020: ACT v Qld Fire, Manuka Oval
9am, Wednesday, 22 January 2020: NSW v Qld Fire, Manuka Oval
10am, Tuesday, 4 February 2020: Qld Fire v Victoria, Allan Border Field (BNE)
10am, Thursday, 6 February 2020:  Qld Fire v SA, Allan Border Field (BNE)