The Queensland Bulls will play their second first class match of the 2021-22 season from tomorrow with their Marsh Sheffield Shield match against South Australia at the Adelaide Oval.

The Bulls have included young paceman Connor Sully in their 12-man squad with Michael Neser to miss the game as he and fiancée Olivia await the impending birth of their first child.

If selected in the starting side, the 20-year-old Norths paceman would make his Shield and first class debut for Queensland after making his limited overs debut yesterday for the Bulls.

Queensland played a high-scoring draw against Tasmania at Karen Rolton Oval last week and lost an equally high-scoring Marsh One Day Cup encounter with the Redbacks at the same venue yesterday.

The reigning Shield champions will enhance their squad depth with the  Queensland selectors also naming a Queensland 2nd XI to take on Tasmania at Bill Albury Oval next week, the first 2nd XI game in more than 12 months to be staged in Queensland.

Bulls squad wicket-keeper Lachy Pfeffer will captain the side, which also includes paceman Gurinder Sandhu, who made his List A debut for Queensland yesterday.

Redlands off-spinner Jackson Sinfield, who is completing his final year at The Southport School, has been chosen for a 2nd XI game for the first time, as has Gold Coast batsman Hugo Burdon.

Brisbane Heat squad member Matt Willans will play his first four-day 2nd XI game after the left-arm University of Queensland paceman previously played T20 2nd XI games in 2019.

All Shield matches will be live streamed on Kayo and Marsh One-Day Cup matches will also be shown on Foxtel.

Marsh Sheffield Shield

Queensland v South Australia

Adelaide Oval

Tomorrow - Monday


Usman Khawaja (c)

James Bazley

Joe Burns

Blake Edwards

Matthew Kuhnemann

Marnus Labuschagne

Jimmy Peirson

Matthew Renshaw

Mark Steketee

Bryce Street

Connor Sully

Jack Wildermuth


2nd XI

Queensland v Tasmania

Bill Albury Oval, Tingalpa

Monday, 18th October to Thursday, 21st October, 2021.


Lachlan Pfeffer (Valley, c)

Max Bryant (Gold Coast)

Hugo Burdon (Gold Coast)

Jack Clayton (University of Qld)

Sam Heazlett (Redlands)

Aryan Jain (South Brisbane)

Josh Kann (Gold Coast)

Ronan McDonald (Toombul)

Gurinder Sandhu (South Brisbane)

Jackson Sinfield (Redlands)

Matt Willans (University of Qld)

Jack Wood (Ipswich)