Test batsman Joe Burns will enjoy another stern test tomorrow in the second round of the Kookaburra One Day Competition when he confronts Queensland Bulls teammate Billy Stanlake at Ian Healy Oval.

Burns is coming off an unbeaten century in the opening round last weekend.

Stanlake is building towards a potentially breakthrough summer as he builds his bowling resilience after overcoming injuries that hampered his progress last season.

Burns will relish the opportunity for another batting window match prior to next week’s announcement of the Australian squad to play Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates next month.

He is part of a strong Vikings line-up, including fellow Bulls squad members Jack Prestwidge, Nathan McSweeney and Cameron Gannon as well as wicket-keeper Tom Healy who played a practice match for Queensland during the week against NSW.

Souths left-hander Aryan Jain is coming off a century of his own last week and with Stanlake in their line-up, they will look to make life difficult for the home side.

The Bulls will step up their preparations for the opening JLT one day Cup game taking place next Sunday against Victoria at Riverway Stadium in Townsville.

Australia ‘A’ allrounder Jack Wildermuth joins Queensland squad-mates Lachlan Pfeffer, Luke Feldman and Mark Steketee in the Valley’s team to take on Toombul at Peter Easton Oval while reigning one-day champions Sandgate-Redcliffe will look to make it two wins on the trot when they travel down the M1 to tackle Gold Coast at Bill Pippen Oval.

The Gators defeated Redlands last weekend with captain Lachlan Thompson crafting an impressive 136 not out alongside Zac Keune (90no).

Redlands Tigers will welcome newly re-signed Brisbane Heat paceman Josh Lalor to the squad for a cameo appearance tomorrow against Western Suburbs at Peter Burge Oval.

The Sydney-based Lalor, who was announced yesterday as the Heat’s 16th signing for the coming BBL, has spent the week training with Queensland and will look to play more one-day and T20 games for the Tigers as the summer progresses.

Teenage Wynnum-Manly opener Corey Hunter picked up a half century for Queensland in the mid-week practice match against NSW and will look to continue his form tomorrow against Ipswich/Logan which will be keen to shine in their first home game of the season at Baxter Oval.

The Hornets beat Souths at Fehlberg Park with former Australian U-19 allrounder Harry Wood producing an excellent double of 4-44 and 78.

University of Queensland will look to convert the fine opening season form of experienced former Bulls and NSW batsman Scott Henry, who hit 101 not out to help Uni win first-up against Toombul, and relative rookie Jack Clayton.

Clayton, back in cricket after a stint playing AFL, peeled off a stunning 142 not out from just 116 balls on debut last weekend for Uni. That effort earned the former Queensland youth player a call-up for the State practice game against NSW at Allan Border Field.

Sunday will see the start of the new-look Lord’s Taverners Under-16 Competition, with regional teams Darling Downs & South West Queensland and Wide Bay joining the competiton for the first time.

Meanwhile former Southern Stars batter Jess Duffin will captain one of the teams in the second round of the Konica Minolta Cup tomorrow at Norm McMahon Oval at Valley.


Tomorrow (all matches start 9.30am)

Ipswich/Logan v Wynnum-Manly, Baxter Oval, Ipswich

Valley v Toombul, Peter Easton Oval, Ashgrove

University of Qld v Sunshine Coast, WEP Harris Oval, St Lucia

Northern Suburbs v South Brisbane, Ian Healy Oval. Kalinga

Gold Coast v Sandgate-Redcliffe, Bill Pippen Oval, Robina

Redlands v Western Suburbs, Peter Burge Oval, Wellington Point


Konica Minolta Cup, tomorrow at Norm McMahon Oval (Valley)


TEAM 1                        TEAM 2

Kirby Short (c)             Jess Duffin (c)

Grace Harris                Tess Cooper

Sammy-Jo Johnson      Laura Harris

Georgia Prestwidge    Courtney Sippel

Sterre Kalis                  Lauren Shackleton

Haidee Birkett             Josie Dooley

Ruby Strange               Jemma Barsby

Ruth Johnston              Charli Knott

Kate McDonald           Georgia Voll

Lily Mills                      Stef Baldwin

Amy Riddell                 Meagan Dixon

Caity Mair                   Stacy Rockliff