Cricket has been shortlisted in the following categories.

- Queensland Bulls: Team of the Year

- Wade Seccombe: Coach of the Year

- First Ashes Test: Sports Event of the Year

- Andrew McShea: Administrator of the Year

- Trisha Spry: Volunteer of the Year

- Robert Bailey: Volunteer of the Year

- QLD Under 17 Girls Indoor Cricket Team: Junior Team of the Year

A full list of finalists can be found here.

The Queensland Bulls are a worthy inclusion in the Team of the Year category after claiming the 2017-18 Sheffield Shield title. The Bulls finished on top of the Shield ladder, earning hosting rights for the competition's Final where they defeated Tasmania by nine wickets at Allan Border Field.  

The Bulls' success has been rewarded across the last 12-months with four players earning their international debuts, and a further five representing Australia throughout the year. 

Bulls mentor Wade Seccombe has been shortlisted as the Queensland Coach of the Year after claiming the Sheffield Shield in his first season in charge. 

While enjoying on-field success, the Bulls showcased excellence in the way they played the game under Seccombe's leadership by winning the Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award, judged by umpires as the Australian domestic team that played in the best spirit, sportsmanship and respect for the game. 

Image: Wade Seccombe celebrates Shield success with the QLD Bulls

The First Ashes Test at the Gabba has been shortlisted for the Sporting Event of the Year as Queensland's proud tradition of hosting the first Test of an Ashes summer continued in 2017-18.

130,600 fans witnessed Australia record a resounding victory over England, with the first three days of the Test sold out. 

19,493 international and interstate fans visited Queensland for the Ashes Test, contributing $33.21m in spending to the State's economy.

Image: The Pool Deck was a hit with fans during the Gabba Ashes Test

The Brisbane Heat continued to thrive in 2017-18 under the leadership of General Manager Andrew McShea who has been nominated as Administrator of the Year. 

The Heat have sold out nine of their past 11 home games at the Gabba, which included setting a domestic cricket crowd record of 35,564 against the Perth Scorchers in January 2018. 

164,900 Heat fans came through the Gabba gates in 2017-18, with the combined Big Bash League and international cricket crowd making the season the most attended in Queensland history. 

Image: Brisbane Heat fan passion continues to rise

Mareeba and District Cricket Club Secretary Trisha Spry's passion and commitment for growing cricket makes her a notable nominee as Volunteer of the Year. 

Trisha has founded an all-female introductory cricket competition in North Queensland, which featured 70 participants in 2017-18. The success of the competition has led to the launch of the Trisha Spry Shield, a tournament featuring teams from Mareeba, Cairns, Innisfail and Atherton. 

Robert Bailey is another Volunteer of the Year nominee who has made a significant contribution to grassroots cricket with Valley District Cricket Club, Brisbane North Junior Cricket Association (BNJCA), Warehouse Cricket and the Australian Cricket Society. 

Under Bailey's guidance, BNJCA has led the way for girls' cricket in Queensland, with their 37 teams in 2017-18, up from 16 the previous year, the largest all-girls association in the State. 

Image: BNJCA has enjoyed great growth in girls cricket

Queensland's female indoor cricketers continued to set national standards in 2017-18, with the State's Under 17 Girls Indoor Cricket Team shortlisted for the Junior Sports Team of the Year.

Queensland won their second Under 17 Girls national title in a row after going through the National Championships undefeated and having two players named in the Australian 17's side. 

Queensland Cricket Chief Executive Officer Max Walters said:

"Having seven cricket Queensland Sport nominations is a great achievement and recognition for the hard work and commitment being shown on a daily basis by our players, coaches, staff and volunteers. 

"Cricket is in an exciting phase where participation is growing and more fans are attending elite matches than ever before, so we believe our nominations are appropriate and well-earned.

"What is most pleasing is that cricket in Queensland has been recognised across all levels of our game. From our high-performance coaches and teams through to the volunteers who run our game at grassroots level, everyone is contributing to cricket's success and future.

"We look forward to a great night celebrating Queensland Sport at next month's awards dinner," Walters said. 

Winners of the Queensland Sports Awards will be announced at a gala dinner on Wednesday the 28th of November.