Toowoomba Cricket Inc. (TCI) President Angus Rathie was presented with the Metropolitan South West / Darling Downs and South West Queensland Service to Cricket Award for the 2019-20 season. 

Angus was presented the award by Queensland Cricket Director and former captain Ian Healy during the 2020 Australian Cricket Country Cricket Championships that were hosted in Toowoomba and which he played a major role in organising.

On top of his current role with TCI, Angus's 15 years service to community cricket has included stints as President of the TCI Umpires Association, Senior President of the Darling Downs and South West Queensland zone, Queensland Country Cricket Secretary and South Queensland Country Board Member. 

Kent Reimers (above) was recently recognised for his efforts in organising the successful running of the inaugural Darling Downs Bush Bash League (DDBBL) after he awarded the Sports Darling Downs 2019 Volunteer of the Year.  

The DDBBL was a unique concept that saw six teams owned by local businesses compete in a regional T20 competition. 

The tournament was viewed as a major success and one that invigorated cricket in the Toowoomba and Darling Downs regions after it brought past players back into the game to mix with rising stars. Queensland Premier Cricket Clubs also released players from the region to enhance the standard of the DDBBL. 

The DDBBL has inspired other regions and sports to copy this model to inject energy and commercial interests into community sport. 

Queensland Cricket thanks and congratulations Angus, Kent and all the great volunteers doing wonderful things to keep cricket moving.