The Bulls will be without Australia ‘A’ representatives Michael Neser, Joe Burns and Usman Khawaja, with Khawaja captaining the team that takes on Pakistan in a day/night tour match in Perth next week.

Batsman Matthew Renshaw returns to the Bulls squad after missing the drawn game with WA at the Gabba due to illness while 20-year old Wests quick Blake Edwards is in line to make his first class and Sheffield Shield debut.

Edwards, who played a leading role in the Queensland Academy of Sport’s Toyota 2nd XI Cup win over Tasmania in Hobart this week, would be the third 20-year-old in as many weeks to receive a Bulls cap with Xavier Bartlett and Bryce Street both making Shield debuts.

A former Queensland and Australian Under-19 player, Edwards represented the Prime Minister’s XI last summer in a one-day game against South Africa in Canberra.

The right-arm pace bower picked up 3-43 from 18 overs in the first innings of the 2nd XI clash against Tasmania which the QAS won outright by seven wickets today.

As anticipated, young batsman Bryce Street retains his spot after scoring his maiden Shield century against WA on Monday.

The Bulls sit in fourth spot on the Shield ladder, bunched with WA and Tasmania, with NSW well on top after a trio of outright victories.

Wicket-keeper Jimmy Peirson will captain Queensland in Khawaja’s absence.

The QAS win over Tasmania featured a strong first innings effort from batsman Max Bryant (97) while the second innings run-chase was underpinned by Souths opener Aryan Jain (50no) and University of Queensland batsman Jack Clayton (42no).

Redlands allrounder James Bazley capped a fine return with 3-27 from 12 overs and 4-45 from 20 overs while Wynnum-Manly quick Benji Floros, younger brother of former Bulls and Heat allrounder Jason, took 3-54 and 3-44.

Marsh Sheffield Shield

Tuesday 12 November – Friday 15 November

Queensland v Victoria, Melbourne Cricket Ground

Queensland Bulls

Xavier Bartlett

Blake Edwards

Cameron Gannon

Charlie Hemphrey

Marnus Labuschagne

Nathan McSweeney

James Peirson (c)

Matthew Renshaw

Mark Steketee

Bryce Street

Mitch Swepson

Jack Wildermuth

12th man to be named