The announcement earlier this week that the Queensland Fire will contest the 2020-21 Women’s National Cricket League in January and February will complete a remarkable milestone.
Queensland was the first State to secure naming rights sponsor for its team in the history of women’s cricket in Australia when the Queensland Fire came into existence in 1996-97.
The team was later known as the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire after the merging of the two technology corporations.
Using the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire identity, Queensland’s leading female players featured prominently on marketing posters, collector player cards, merchandise and eventually through broadcast matches.
The partnership has continued through to 2020-21 season, with the sponsorship period including Queensland’s first ever national title, the 2013-14 Women’s T20 Cup, which was the precursor tournament to the current rebel Women’s Big Bash League.
Queensland Cricket CEO Terry Svenson thanked Konica Minolta for their unstinting support for women’s cricket in the State.
“Looking back, the original architects of this partnership deserve high praise for their far-sighted decision to formalize such a sponsorship,’’ he said.
“The then CEO of Queensland Cricket Graham Dixon was a strong proponent for levelling the playing field for our female cricketers, and Konica’s GM of sales and marketing manager at the time, Geoff Davey, shared that vision,’’ he said.
“The marketing teams which successfully put this deal together, and the many talented players and coaches who subsequently led the charge for the Queensland Fire, have helped lay the platform for the recent success in the growth of women’s and girls’ cricket throughout Queensland.”
“There has been a lot of cricket played since that first sponsorship agreement, but the constant for those Queensland players over those decades is that they displayed their skills and dedication under the banner of the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire.”
“It is very heartening to know that the Fire will continue to fly that flag into 2021 with the WNCL getting underway soon. We wish them all the best for their coming campaign and thank Konica Minolta for backing the players for all these years.”
Queensland Branch Manager, Tony Redwood echoed these sentiments: “Konica Minolta is proud to have been involved with the Konica Minolta Fire for almost 25 years.  Our sponsorship of the Fire has underlined our support of Queensland Sport and professional Women’s sport in particular.”
“We have seen the team grow in its professionalism during this time and the Konica Minolta family have been immensely proud of the Fire’s results. We will watch excitedly as the team continues to fly the Queensland flag in the national competition.”

The Fire will open their season in Hobart on 17 January and also play two matches against the defending title holders Western Australia at Allan Border Field on 27 and 29 January.

The WNCL Draw is available now.
2020-21 Queensland Fire Squad
Cricket Australia Contracted Players
Jess JONASSEN (University of Qld)
Delissa KIMMINCE (Gold Coast)
Beth MOONEY (Sandgate-Redcliffe)

Queensland Contracted Players
Grace Harris (Wests)
Laura Harris (University of Qld)
Georgia Redmayne (Gold Coast)
Mikayla Hinkley (Valley)
Charli Knott (Valley)
Tess Cooper (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Georgia Voll (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Georgia Prestwidge (Valley)
Holly Ferling (Wests)
Courtney Sippel (Wests)
Meagan Dixon (Wests)
Lilly Mills (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Caitlin Mair (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Ellie Johnston (Ipswich/Logan)