The Bulls have signed International limited overs bowler Kane Richardson following his decision to move from South Australia to the Gold Coast with his family, while left-arm quick Liam Guthrie will shift from Perth to link with Queensland.

Guthrie, 25, played for the Brisbane Heat last summer for the first time after previously playing Sheffield Shield and List A games for Western Australia. He us currently playing League cricket in the United Kingdom.

The experienced Richardson, 31, has played 25 One Day Internationals and 30 T20 Internationals for Australia to be one of their premier white ball pace bowlers.

He has also played 34 first class games and will provide additional depth in the Sheffield Shield arena for the Bulls.

As well as Richardson and Guthrie, the Queensland Bulls have also signed Gurinder Sandhu, Jack Clayton and Connor Sully to full contracts and returned batsman Sam Truloff to the Bulls list for the first time since 2019-20.

Sandhu impressed at first class and one-day level for the Bulls last summer, claiming his third career hat-trick in the Marsh One Day Cup along the way.

Clayton became the first Bulls player to score a century on debut since Sam Heazlett in 2015 as he and Truloff found homes in the Queensland top order for the back end of the season.

Truloff, 29, was prolific in the KFC Queensland Premier Cricket competition for Wests, scoring more than 1000 runs as he helped the Bulldogs to a two-day title.

Including the Final, his season total of 1116 runs at 111.6 in the two-day competition included five centuries and four half centuries in his 13 matches.

Truloff’s haul sent cricket historians diving into the records of the past, with the tally overhauling one of the oldest marks in the books, that of Queensland batsman F C ‘Cecil’ Thompson who was widely attributed to have scored 1069 runs in 1922-23.

Truloff, who finished the season in the Queensland Bulls first class and one-day line-ups, had a total season aggregate of 1235 runs at 72.65.

The right-hander made his List A debut for Bulls during the summer, scoring 80 in his maiden Marsh One Day Cup appearance.

Queensland added Australian Under-19 World Cup spinner Jackson Sinfield and Gold Coast allrounder Hugo Burdon to their rookie list along with existing rookie pacemen Matthew Willans and Will Prestwidge, who made his List A and Brisbane Heat debuts last summer.

Both Burdon and Sinfield have been tied to the Brisbane Heat in the past two seasons as local replacement players.

Burdon, 20, finished as the second leading runs-scorer behind Truloff in the KFC Queensland Premier Cricket Competition with 1025 runs at 53.95 from all formats.

A top order bat who also bowls leg-spin, he was called into action as a substitute fielder for Australia during the Ashes Test at the Gabba last season.

Ipswich spinner Jack Wood and Valley wicket-keeper Lachy Pfeffer drop off the list for 2022-23 while paceman Billy Stanlake has linked with Tasmania.

Queensland Cricket General Manager – High Performance, Bennett King, said the 2022-23 squad represented opportunity for several players as well as an investment for the future.

"We’re pleased to welcome Kane and Liam to Queensland and look forward to having them as part of the group,’’ he said.

“Kane’s experience around the bowling group will no doubt be very helpful, while we are excited to provide Liam with an opportunity to further develop his skills.”

“It’s great to be able to reward Gurinder Sandhu for his hard work over the past two years, and similarly, bring Jack Clayton and Connor Sully through the rookie system onto a full contract for the first time.”

“Sam Truloff has also been recognised through his sheer weight of runs at all levels, and we congratulate him on his perseverance to return to the list after previously being a part of the Bulls squad. He will set a valuable example to the squad, especially our younger players and rookies who are embarking on what we hope will be fulfilling careers.”

“Finally, for the players moving on, we thank Billy, Jack and Lachy for their efforts during their time as squad members and wish them every success for the future,” King said.

The Queensland Fire women's squad for 2022-23 will be released next week.

2022-23 Queensland Bulls

CA contracted:

Usman Khawaja (c)

Marnus Labuschagne

Mitch Swepson

State Contracted:

Xavier Bartlett

James Bazley

Max Bryant

Joe Burns

Jack Clayton - New

Blake Edwards

Liam Guthrie - New

Sam Heazlett

Matthew Kuhnemann

Michael Neser

Jimmy Peirson

Matthew Renshaw

Kane Richardson - New

Gurinder Sandhu - New

Mark Steketee

Bryce Street

Connor Sully – New

Sam Truloff – New

Jack Wildermuth


Rookie Contracted

William Prestwidge

Jackson Sinfield - New

Hugo Burdon - New

Matthew Willans