Cricket Australia has confirmed the 24 players to take part in this season’s under-19 rebel Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) Exhibition matches on Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 November at Phillip Oval, Canberra.

The best under-19 players from across the country will compete in three Twenty20 fixtures across the two days, representing either the Lanning or Perry XI.

Selection was completed in conjunction with WBBL clubs, with players to wear the colours of their affiliated WBBL clubs during the matches.

A total of nine contracted WBBL players have been named, including Tess Flintoff, Stella Campbell, Hannah Darlington and Phoebe Litchfield who have all taken to the field for their respective clubs in WBBL|05.

The Queenslanders chosen range from WBBL Heat contracted trio Charli Knott, Lilly Mills and Courtney Sippel through to 14-year-old Townsville prodigy Sianna Ginger and Sandgate-Redcliffe teenager Caitlin Mair.

Former Australian captain and ex-Queensand Fire and Brisbane Heat player Jodie Fields will coach the Lanning XI, which includes Toowoomba's Ruth Johnston who is a former recipient of a Jodie Fields scholarship that is presented to promising regionally based Queensland female players.

Lanning XI (WBBL Affiliated Club)

1. Isabelle Arafas (Sydney Sixers)
2. Jade Allen (Sydney Thunder)
3. Darcie Brown* (Adelaide Strikers)
4. Emma de Broughe (Adelaide Strikers)
5. Tess Flintoff* (Melbourne Stars)
6. Georgia Gall (Melbourne Renegades)
7. Sianna Ginger (Brisbane Heat)
8. Molly Healy (Perth Scorchers)
9. Ruth Johnston (Brisbane Heat)
10. Charli Knott* (Brisbane Heat)
11. Caitlin Mair (Brisbane Heat)
12. Kate Peterson* (Sydney Thunder)

Coach: Jodie Fields
Assistant Coach: Leah Poulton

Perry XI  (WBBL Affiliated Club)
1. Zoe Britcliffe (Perth Scorchers)
2. Lucy Cripps* (Melbourne Stars)
3. Stella Campbell* (Sydney Sixers)
4. Hannah Darlington* (Sydney Thunder)
5. Molly Godsell (Sydney Thunder)
6. Ella Hayward (Melbourne Renegades)
7. Emma Hughes* (Sydney Sixers)
8. Phoebe Litchfield* (Sydney Thunder)
9. Ella Marsh (Hobart Hurricanes)
10. Lilly Mills* (Brisbane Heat)
11. Courtney Sippel* (Brisbane Heat)
12. Amy Smith (Hobart Hurricanes)

Coach: Shelley Nitschke

Assistant Coach: Jono Dean

*WBBL contracted player

Cricket Australia Female High Performance Coach, Leah Poulton, said:
“Now in its third year, these matches continue to play in important role in the development of the best underage talent in the country.

“The female player pathway is the strongest it has even been, and these matches certainly contribute to that along with regular overseas tours for the Australia Under 19 side.

“Just recently we’ve seen how well players such as Phoebe Litchfield, Stella Campbell and Tess Flintoff have done stepping up to the WBBL which is the leading women’s domestic cricket league in the world, so it’s evident that the pathway is doing what its designed to do.

“It’s a really important period coming up for this age group with the ICC recently confirming an Under 19 World Cup and another Australia Under 19 Tour scheduled for next year. The players will definitely be out to impress.”


Saturday 23 November
9:30am: WBBL Exhibition Match 1 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra
2pm: WBBL Exhibition Match 1 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra

Sunday 24 November
9am: WBBL Exhibition Match 1 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra