The award for Queensland Premier Cricket’s Best and Fairest Female Player of the Season caps off a memorable 2017-18 for Johnson, who led the competition’s run-scorers list with 499 at an average of 45.36, while also taking 11 wickets at 25.10.

Johnson adds the Kath Smith Medal to a season haul that also includes the awards for the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire Player of the Year and the Queensland Fire Players’ Player.

The Brisbane Heat all-rounder polled 17 points for the season to beat out WBBL and Fire teammates Jemma Barsby (Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC – 15 points), Delissa Kimmince (Gold Coast DCC – 14 points) and Holly Ferling (Western Suburbs DCC – 13 points).

Sunshine Coast top order batsman and off-spinner Day took out the Peter Burge Medal for Premier Cricket Men’s Best and Fairest player after scoring 966 runs across all formats at an average of 42 and taking 47 wickets at 19.74, the most by a spinner.

His form was rewarded with a call-up to the Queensland Academy of Sport team where he scored 86 against New South Wales in the Futures League.

Day’s total of 62 votes was enough to edge out 2003/04 Burge Medal winner and Sandgate-Redcliffe paceman Nathan Rimmington who tallied 60, with the duo safely out in front of Wests all-rounder Chris Sabburg who finished the season with 48 votes.

The Peter Burge Medal is awarded to the best and fairest cricketer in the myFootDr First Grade competition and is judged by the First Grade umpires. The award is named in honour of former Queensland captain Peter Burge who enjoyed a 15-year Sheffield Shield career, playing 91 games in the baggy maroon cap and 42 Tests for Australia.

The Kath Smith Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest women’s cricketer playing in Queensland Premier Grade Competition known as the Katherine Raymont Shield, as judged by the umpires.

The award is named in honour of Kath Smith, who played six Tests for Australia in the 1930s and was vice-captain of the Australian team that played the very first women’s Test against England in 1934.

For the first time a merit team was named for both the men’s and women’s First Grade, recognising the great individual seasons of twelve players in each competition.

MyFootDr First Grade Men’s Competition

Katherine Raymont Shield

Lachlan Pfeffer (WK) – Valley DCC

Laura Harris – University of QLD CC

Chris Sabburg – Western Suburbs DCC

Amy Riddell – Gold Coast DCC

Thomas Rowley – Toombul DCC

Grace Harris – Western Suburbs DCC

Peter Forrest – University of QLD CC

Sammy-Jo Johnson – Gold Coast DCC

Sam Truloff – Western Suburbs DCC

Megan White – Valley DCC

Charlie Hemphrey – Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC

Selena Tainton (C) – University of QLD CC

Alecz Day – Sunshine Coast CC

Josie Dooley (WK) – Western Suburbs DCC

Lachlan Thompson (C) – Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC

Jemma Barsby – Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC

Andrew Gode – Valley DCC

Leteysha Randall – Valley DCC

Jack Prestwidge – Northern Suburbs DCC

Lauren Shackleton – Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC

Nathan Rimmington – Sandgate-Redcliffe DCC

Meagan Dixon – Western Suburbs DCC

Scott Walter – University of QLD CC

Ashleigh Sims – Western Suburbs DCC


2017-18 Kath Smith Medal
Sammy-Jo Johnson, Gold Coast – 17 points
Jemma Barsby, Sandgate-Redcliffe – 15 points
Delissa Kimmince, Gold Coast – 14 points
Holly Ferling, Western Suburbs – 13 points
Haidee Birkett, University of Queensland – 12 points
Charli Knott, Valley – 12 points

2017-18 Peter Burge Medal
Alecz Day, Sunshine Coast – 62 points
Nathan Rimmington, Sandgate-Redcliffe – 60 points
Chris Sabburg, Western Suburbs – 48 points
Scott Walter, University of Queensland – 47 points
Andrew Gode, Valley - 45

Other awards on the night included:

- Bob Spence Medal (Umpires) – Steve Farley
Clem Jones Perpetual Volunteer Award – Graham Mapri, President of Wynnum-Manly District Cricket Club
- Bob Spence Trophy (Most Improved Under-21 Player) – Max Bryant (Gold Coast)
- STA Groundsman of the Year: Jonathon Walker (Sandgate-Redcliffe)