Redlands, featuring Labuschagne and fellow Queensland Bulls and Brisbane Heat players James Bazley and Jimmy Peirson, will host Valley, boasting Khawaja and Bulls players Jack Wildermuth, Mark Steketee and Lachy Pfeffer in the opening Kookaburra One-Day Cup round.

The clash marks 25 years since Eastern Suburbs relocated to its present Wellington Point headquarters and subsequent transformation to the Redlands Tigers.

Also in the Redlands side will ex-Queensland and Tasmanian allrounder Simon Milenko, although a finger injury will sideline Bulls and Heat batsman Sam Heazlett from the early rounds.

Valley have also included Melbourne Renegades leg-spinner Cameron Boyce and evergreen allrounder Andrew Gode.

Redlands are the reigning One-Day champions, winning a high-scoring clash against Northern Suburbs last season at Allan Border Field.

Norths, including Queensland and Australian batsman Joe Burns, will take on two-day premiers University of Queensland at WEP Harris Oval.

The KFC Queensland Premier Cricket competition encompasses the Sci Fleet Motors First Grade competition and Kookaburra One Day and Kookaburra T20 competitions, as well as the Katherine Raymont Shield women’s First Grade and Jodie Fields Shield Second Grade women’s competitions.

Thanks to the broadcast partnership with Kayo, fans across Australia will be able to stream selected KFC Queensland Premier Cricket matches live and free on Kayo Freebies across the summer.

Access to Kayo Freebies can be made by simply downloading the Kayo Sports app or visiting and registering for a Freebies account. Kayo Freebies are free, and no credit card details are required to register and start streaming.

The Kayo arrangement will feature men’s and women’s matches.

Queensland Cricket CEO Terry Svenson welcomed the opportunity to showcase Premier Cricket to a wider audience.

“Having a high-quality match featuring Australian and State players at a great location like Peter Burge Oval where they will celebrate a significant club milestone across the weekend is a wonderful way to launch this agreement with Kayo,’’ he said.

“We’re grateful for the work done behind the scenes by our streaming providers InteractSport to enable this relationship with Kayo to take place and we’re excited by the prospect of the KFC Queensland Premier Cricket clubs and competitions having the chance to be seen by cricket fans around the country.”

“We’re fortunate to be in a position to start our summer as scheduled this week and we again acknowledge the outstanding effort by all of the volunteers involved in the game to get us into such a strong position to launch the season,” he said.

As has been the case for the past two years, all Sci Fleet Motors First Grade two-day competition and Kookaburra One Day and Kookaburra T20 competitions, as well as the Katherine Raymont Shield women’s First Grade One-Day and T20 games will be live-streamed online during the season.

InteractSport will deliver coverage of men’s and women’s competitions throughout the season through its FrogBox system, with all games, highlights and statistics captured through a dedicated on-line match centre at:

The 2021-22 Premier Cricket season comes off a ground-breaking summer last year which featured Norths claiming their first club championship in 35 years, University of Queensland winning a hat-trick of two-day premierships and Sunshine Coast Scorchers winning the Katherine Raymont Shield one-day competition in their inaugural season in the competition.

The youthful Scorchers squad will take on University of Queensland at Maroochydore on Sunday in the opening round of the one-day competition.

This season will feature an expanded Katherine Raymont Shield T20 competition, an expansion from 10 to 14 games and a new Lord’s Taverners U16 T20 competition to complement the existing one-day competition that gets underway this Sunday featuring the 12 Premier clubs as well as Darling Downs/South-West and Wide Bay.

The Final of the Kookaburra T20 men’s competition will be played at the Gabba on Sunday 19 December, the first time in 15 years that a Premier Cricket match has been held at the venue.

The 2021-22 Premier Cricket committee features the first-time appointment of dual WBBL Heat championship captain Kirby Short as well as current Sandgate-Redcliffe batter Tess Cooper.

Also making their first appearances on the committee are Redlands stalwart Nick Hurford and ex-Wests paceman Dan Maroske, while QC High Performance General Manager Bennett King will chair the group.

KFC Queensland Premier Cricket Competitions

Sc-Fleet Motors Men's First Grade

Kookaburra One Day Competiton

Round 1            

4 Sep 21 9:30AM            Redlands v Valley (Peter Burge Oval) 


4 Sep 21 9:30AM            Toombul v Sandgate-Redcliffe (Ken Mackay Oval)

4 Sep 21 9:30AM            University of Queensland v Northern Suburbs (WEP Harris Oval)      

4 Sep 21 9:30AM            Wynnum-Manly v South Brisbane (Bill Albury Oval)

4 Sep 21 9:30AM            Gold Coast v Western Suburbs (Bill Pippen Oval)          

4 Sep 21 9:30AM            Ipswich/Logan v Sunshine Coast (Baxter Oval)

Katherine Raymont Shield One Day Competition

Round 1

5 Sep 21 10:00AM          Wynnum-Manly/Redlands v Ipswich/Logan (Peter Burge Oval)                        

5 Sep 21 10:00AM          Western Suburbs v Valley (Graceville No 1)              

5 Sep 21 10:00AM          Sandgate-Redcliffe v Gold Coast    (Trevor Hohns Oval)                   

5 Sep 21 10:00AM          Sunshine Coast v University of Queensland (Kerry Emery Oval)