Khawaja was Australia's dominant batsman in their recent series wins over India and Pakistan where he hit five fifties and two centuries from his last ten One-Day International innings. 

He is the only Queenslander in the World Cup squad that sees Steve Smith and David Warner return. 

In other squad news, Bulls all-rounder Michael Neser was selected in Australia A's one day and four day squads to play in the UK. The one day squad will play five games to coincide with the Ashes, while the four day squad will play three games leading into the Ashes. 

Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Burns and Matthew Renshaw were not considered for the four day tour, with the trio instead allowed the opportunity to impress before the Ashes by playing County Cricket for Glamorgan, Lancashire and Kent respectively. 

Brisbane Heat fast-bowler James Pattinson will make his return to Australian colours after being picked in the Australia A one and four day squads. 

Both Khawaja and Pattinson were also awarded Cricket Australia contracts, with a 20-man list also announced today. 

Australian Men’s World Cup Squad:
Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
David Warner (New South Wales)
Steve Smith (New South Wales)
Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)
Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)
Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)
Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Australia A Men’s One Day Squad:
Travis Head (c) (South Australia)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
Will Pucovski (Victoria)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Ashton Turner (Western Australia)
Mitch Marsh (vc) (Western Australia)
D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)
Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)
Ashton Agar (Western Australia)
Michael Neser (Queensland)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Australia A Four Day Squad:
Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)
Marcus Harris (Victoria)
Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)
Will Pucovski (Victoria)
Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
Mitch Marsh (Western Australia)
Michael Neser (Queensland)
Jon Holland (Victoria)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Jackson Bird (Tasmania)
Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)
Chris Tremain (Victoria)

Cricket Australia Contracted Players 2019-20
Patrick Cummins
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Alex Carey
Aaron Finch
Usman Khawaja
Peter Handscomb
Marcus Harris
Travis Head
Josh Hazlewood
Nathan Lyon
Glenn Maxwell
Shaun Marsh
Tim Paine
James Pattinson
Jhye Richardson
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
David Warner
Adam Zampa