Melbourne Stars BBL and NSW batsman Nick Larkin is the latest to suit-up for a Premier League team, linking with University of Queensland tomorrow against Valley at Ashgrove.

Larkin, who was one of the Star’s most consistent performers in the KFC Big Bash League last year, is among a host of players who spent the winter playing in the Northern Territory Top End series competitions.

With NSW looking to base itself away from Sydney in order to start the season, players such as Larkin will relish the chance to stay match ready ahead of the Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One Day Cup next month.

Larkin won't have to look far to see some familiar faces in the second round of the Kookaburra One Day competiton.

Former NSW players Gurinder Sandhu (South Brisbane) and Arjun Nair (Wests) have relocated to Brisbane to ply their trade, with both picking up BBL contracts last season with the Sydney Sixers and Thunder respectively.

Current NSW batsman Ryan Hackney is playing for Ipswich/Logan in this interim period, while Sydney Sixers allrounder Hayden Kerr is with the Gold Coast Dolphins.

Wynnum-Manly have also welcomed a new face in English import David Toft who played in their win last week over Souths. Toft, who played in Geelong last season, linked with the Sea Eagles during the winter.

The Sunshine Coast have included South Australian recruit Adam Somerfield for their battle of the Coasts against the GC Dolphins at Maroochydore.

Meanwhile new Australian selection Georgia Redmayne is set to play for the Gold Coast Dolphins in the second round of the Katherine Raymont Shield on Sunday after completing hotel quarantine during the week following a playing stint for the Welsh Fire in the inaugural season of The Hundred in the United Kingdom.

She will have new teammate Courtney Sippel alongside her for the clash against Wynnum-Manly/Redlands, with the Queensland Fire and Brisbane Heat seamer switching from Wests to the Gold Coast during the off-season.

All Sci Fleet Motors First Grade two-day competition and Kookaburra One Day and Kookaburra T20 competitions, as well as the Katherine Raymont Shield women’s First Grade One-Day and T20 games will be live-streamed online during the season.

InteractSport will deliver coverage of men’s and women’s competitions throughout the season through its FrogBox system, with all games, highlights and statistics captured through a dedicated on-line match centre at:



Rd 2 Kookaburra One Day Competition

Tomorrow, 9.30am starts:

Northern Suburbs v Wynnum-Manly, Shaw Park (Ian Healy Oval)

Toombul v Ipswich/Logan, Oxenham Park (Ken Mackay Oval)

Redlands v Sandgate-Redcliffe, EGW Wood Reserve (Peter Burge Oval)                 

Valley v University of Queensland, Ashgrove Sportsground (Peter Easton Oval)

South Brisbane v Western Suburbs, Fehlberg Park (Norman Gray Oval)

Sunshine Coast v Gold Coast, Elizabeth Daniels Park (Kerry Emery Oval)


Katherine Raymont Shield

Round 2, 10am starts    

Gold Coast v  Wynnum-Manly/Redlands, Bill Pippen Oval

Ipswich/Logan v Sandgate-Redcliffe, Ivor Marsden Memorial Park (Baxter Oval)

University of Queensland v Western Suburbs, University of Queensland (WEP Harris Oval)

Valley v Sunshine Coast, Ashgrove Sportsground (Peter Easton Oval)