The squad features 39 of the country’s most talented male teenage cricketers, aged between 15 and 17, who are eligible for this summer’s Under-17 Male and Under-19 Male National Championships.

This is the fourth intake for the program, which commenced in 2015 to help provide an initial development opportunity for Australia’s next generation of stars.

Queensland is currently playing in the National Under-17 titles in Mackay before the tournament shifts to Brisbane, winning three of their first four games.

Included in the squad is young pace bowler Will Prestwidge, younger brother of Bulls and Brisbane Heat quick Jack, and WBBL and Konica Minolta Queensland Fire pace bowler Georgia. Will is currently sidelined with a back stress fracture but will be able to take advantage of the program to continue his rehabilitation and recovery.

There are eight Queenslanders in the squad, with the youngest 15-year-old Redlands spinner Jackson SInfield.

Following the Under 17 Male National Championships, a group of 24 players from within the squad will be selected to take part in the CA Rookie Camp in January 2019.

The camp, held at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane, is designed to give those selected a taste of what life as an elite cricketer entails.

This year’s squad is a smaller group – reduced from 53 to 39 – with the decision made not to include the 14 players selected in the Australia Under-16 side as per previous years, due to that squad having its own development program.

*Note - The Australia Under 16 squad was announced earlier in 2018, following the SSA 15 & Under Boys Championship

2018 CA Pathways Rookie Squad

New South Wales: Zeeshan Ahmed (Bankstown), Sebastian Buchanan (Sydney), Toby Gray (Belmont), Mac Jenkins (Randwick Petersham), Dhruv Kant (Blacktown), Brock Larance (Dubbo CYMS), Dominic O’Shannessy (East Bowral Blues), Tanveer Sangha (Campbelltown Camden), Yuvraj Sharma (Fairfield-Liverpool), Hugh Sheriff (Sydney), Brad Simpson (Bankstown)

Victoria: Jake Fraser-McGurk (Monash Tigers), Campbell Griffiths (Merbein South), Harrish Kannan (Ringwood), Yash Pednekar (Monash Tigers), Miles Sellenger (St Kilda), Zac Sleeman (Monash Tigers), Dylan Tibballs (Ringwood)

South Australia: Isaac Higgins (Glenelg), Harry Mathias (Sturt), Cooper McKenzie (Prospect), Joshua Sims (Kensington)

Queensland: Hugo Burdon (Gold Coast), Jet Liebke (Sandgate-Redcliffe), Dylan Kritzinger (Redlands), Mitch Pascoe (Sandgate-Redcliffe), Will Prestwidge (Northern Suburbs), Will Sanders (University), Jackson Sinfield (Redlands), Harry Weir (Met East Toowoomba)

Western Australia: Brodee Foster (Gosnells), Jayden Goodwin (Colts), Michael Herbst (Wanneroo), Ewan Neilson (Melville), Jacob Wagenknecht (Gosnells)

Tasmania: Will Collins (North Hobart), Nick Davis (North Hobart), Mitchell Owen (Kingborough), Sam Wright (New Town)

Australia U16 Squad

Connor Cook (NSW, Port Pirates), Keegan de Koker (WA, Fremantle), Felix Ford (ACT, Canberra Grammar), Campbell Kellaway (VIC, Melbourne), Dylan McAteer (QLD, Ipswich Brothers), Noah McFadyen (QLD, Northern Suburbs), Jamieson Murphy (SA, Woodville), Nivethan Radhakrishanan (NSW, Bankstown), Sam Rahaley (SA, Kensington), Shobit Singh (VIC, Casey-South Melbourne), Ryley Smith (NSW, Penrith), Tobias Snell (QLD, Northern Suburbs), Aubrey Stockdale (QLD, Toombul), Devlin Webb (VIC, Frankston Peninsula)

*Note: brackets denotes current state/club