A trio of Queenslanders will represent their country at the ICC Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand early next year following the announcement today of the 2018 squad.


Gold Coast duo Max Bryant and Xavier Bartlett and Norths Premier Cricket player Nathan McSweeney were named by Cricket Australia in the 15-man squad that will take on the world’s best junior players from 13 January next year.


Destructive opening batsman Bryant is a member of the BBL|07 Brisbane Heat squad in KFC Big Bash League, while right-arm quick Bartlett was an injury replacement player without playing a game last year for the Heat.


The duo, who are both on rookie contracts for the my FootDr Queensland Bulls, have also played JLT Cup cricket for the Cricket Australia XI over the past two summers.


Allrounder McSweeney is the Queensland under-19 team captain and was a sub fielder during the Ashes Test at the Gabba last month.


The trio were in the Queensland Under-19s team that made the plate playoffs at the National championships in Tasmania this week.


Queensland plays its final match today against Vic Metro although Bryant has linked with the Heat squad on the Sunshine Coast today and tomorrow for the Sunshine Coast Smash practice games against the Melbourne Renegades at Elizabeth Daniels Park.


The squad is selected by the Youth Selection Panel, which is chaired by National Talent Manager and National Selector Greg Chappell and features Troy Cooley, Graham Manou and Ryan Harris, in consultation with the State and Territory Talent Managers.


Former Queensland and Australian fast bowler Ryan Harris will coach the team.


Australia will be out to claim the title for the first time since the 2010 tournament, which was also played in New Zealand, when Mitch Marsh captained an Australian team including the likes of Josh Hazlewood and Adam Zampa.


The ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup starts on 13 January, with the final to be played on 3 February.


Australia has been drawn in Pool B, and begins its campaign against India on 14 January at Tauranga’s Bay Oval, before matches against Zimbabwe on 17 January and Papua New Guinea 19 January at Lincoln Green in Christchurch.


The squad will head into camp in Brisbane in early January, before playing practice matches against Sri Lanka on 9 January and South Africa on 11 January at the Hagley Park complex in Christchurch.


Cricket Australia will also choose a squad to play an ODI series against Pakistan as part of their lead-up to the titles.


2018 Australia Under-19 World Cup Squad


Jason Sangha (C) New South Wales, Will Sutherland (VC) Victoria, Xavier Bartlett Queensland, Max Bryant Queensland, Jack Edwards New South Wales, Zak Evans Victoria, Jarrod Freeman Tasmania, Ryan Hadley New South Wales, Baxter Holt New South Wales, Nathan McSweeney Queensland, Jonathan Merlo Victoria, Lloyd Pope South Australia, Jason Ralston New South Wales Param Uppal New South Wales*, Austin Waugh New South Wales. Coach: Ryan Harris. Assistant Coach: Chris Rogers