Queensland's premier cricket community is celebrating two first-time winners of the Peter Burge and Kath Smith Medals at last night's annual awards dinner.

The wins by allrounders Andrew Gode and Jemma Barsby were equally significant for their premier clubs, with Valley and Sandgate-Redcliffe each claiming their first winners in the respective medals’ history.

Gode, a regular fixture in the top 10 of the Burge Medal in the past five years, finished on 55 points, seven points clear of last year's winner Alecz Day (Sunshine Coast) and Norths allrounder Nathan McSweeney.

The allrounder made his Queensland Bulls debut during the season in the JLT One Day Cup.

Barsby, whose win capped off a superb year that included being a key member of the WBBL Brisbane Heat championship team, snared vital points in the final few rounds to finish on 25 points, one point ahead of experienced Valley allrounder Leteysha Randall.

Randall, a former Konica Minolta Queensland Fire allrounder, was two points clear of Valley teammate Kara Sutherland and Ipswich/Logan's Dutch international Sterre Kalis.

University of Queensland batsman Jack Clayton, who made his Toyota Futures League 2nd XI debut for the Queensland Academy of Sport, won the Bob Spence Trophy for Most Improved player 21 years and Under.

Queensland Cricket unveiled a new award with the introduction of a Most Improved Female Player 21 years and Under, named after Queensland Cricket's first female Life Member, Loretta Moore.

Ipswich/Logan batter Georgia Voll, playing in her first year in the Katherine Raymont Shield, was the inaugural winner.

There was also male and female Coach of the Year awards for the first time, with experienced mentor Brad Murphy from Valley claiming the Bulls Masters First Grade award and Gold Coast’s Garry Lovett for the Katherine Raymont Shield.Teams of the year for both male and female premier competitions were also announced.

The Peter Burge Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest cricketer in the Bulls Masters Queensland Premier Grade Competition, as judged by the umpires.

The award is named in honour of Peter Burge, widely regarded as one of Queensland's finest home-grown batsman. Burge enjoyed a 15-year Sheffield Shield career, scoring 7627 runs at an average of 56.08, including 24 centuries, in 91 matches. He captained Queensland 29 times. He also played 42 Test matches for Australia, scoring 2290 runs at 38.16, including four centuries. 

The Kath Smith Medal is awarded each season to the best and fairest women's cricketer playing in women's Premier cricket competition, known as the Katherine Raymont Shield and sponsored by Konica-Minolta, as judged by the umpires.

The award is named in honour of Kath Smith, who played six Tests for Australia in the 1930s and was vice-captain of the Australian team that played the very first women's Test against England in Brisbane in 1934.

Bulls Masters First Grade 

Team of the Year
1. Bryce Street, Sandgate-Redcliffe 

2. Sam Truloff, Western Suburbs

3. Jack Clayton, University of Queensland 

4. Alecz Day, Sunshine Coast 

5. Andrew Gode (C), Valley

6. Nathan McSweeney, Northern Suburbs

7. Harry Wood, Ipswich/Logan

8. Tom Healy (Wk), Northern Suburbs

9. Jonte Pattison, Western Suburbs

10. Ronan McDonald, Toombul 

11. Scott Walter, University of Queensland 

12. Peter George, Wynnum-Manly 


Katherine Raymont Shield

Team of the Year

1. Grace Harris, Western Suburbs 

2. Georgia Voll, Ipswich/Logan

3. Sterre Kalis, Ipswich/Logan

4. Kara Sutherland, Valley

5. Leteysha Randall (C), Valley 

6. Sammy-Jo Johnson, Gold Coast

7. Jemma Barsby, Sandgate-Redcliffe 

8. Georgia Redmayne (Wk), Gold Coast 

9. Meagan Dixon, Western Suburbs

10. Kirsten Davey, Sandgate-Redcliffe

11. Grace Parsons, Gold Coast

12. Roxanne Thomson, Gold Coast