The Queensland Fire trump continues to impress in all formats, with her noted T20 prowess in the rebel Women’s Big Bash League and Women’s Internationals matched by her one-day form in the Women’s National Cricket League and ODIs.

QC CEO Terry Svenson congratulated Mooney on her latest honour, which followed her dual win at the Australian Cricket Awards night in February.

“We are very fortunate in Queensland to have some outstanding role models with the Fire and WBBL Heat players and Beth continues to give many young girls in the State a hero they can admire and aspire to emulate with her on-field success,’’ he said.

“Beth was a key performer for the Fire this summer, ensuring they were in a position to win the team’s first WNCL championship,’’ he said.

The left-hander claimed her first Belinda Clark Medal, as well as the Australian T20 Player of the Year award in a year that included an historic ICC World Cup victory in Melbourne.

A key member of the Brisbane Heat’s dual WBBL championship unit, the talented wicket-keeper and batter explored new territory in 2020-21 with the Perth Scorchers.

Mooney, 27, scored 504 runs at 45.81 in T20 Internationals in the past 12 months and was the player of the Tournament at the ICC T20 World Cup.

During the past 12 months, she scored more runs than any of her Australian teammates across three ODIs and 14 T20Is, compiling 555 runs at an average of 42.9, including six fifties.

She produced a record highest score for the Fire against WA, with her 163 off 139 balls the most by a Queensland woman. 

Her partnership of 259 with Georgia Redmayne (121) was a record, and steered the Fire to 4-368, which was also their highest ever total in the WNCL. 

While Mooney and Fire captain Jess Jonassen were on international duties in New Zealand with Australian team that broke the world-record for most consecutive ODI wins, Queensland won the State’s inaugural WNCL title.

Mooney’s Wisden win saw her join an illustrious line-up of previous winners.

2014 Meg Lanning (Aus)

2015 Suzie Bates (NZ)

2016 Ellyse Perry (Aus)

2017 Mithali Raj (India)

2018 Smriti Mandhana (Ind)

2019 Ellyse Perry (Aus)

2020 Beth Mooney (Aus)