The Gold Coast Dolphins duo claimed the respective awards presented, with Neser receiving the Ian Healy Trophy as the my FootDr Queensland Bulls player of the year for the second year in a row while Johnson was announced as the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire player of the year for the first time.

The 27-year-old Neser, who was a member of the Bulls’ Sheffield Shield and Adelaide BBL championship teams, finished as Queensland’s leading wicket-taker in both the Shield and JLT One Day Cup competitions.

His Healy Trophy victory saw him poll consistently in each match that he played. Neser joins Bulls greats like James Hopes and Chris Hartley (3), Ashley Noffke, Michael Kasprowicz and Andy Bichel (2) as a winner of more than one Healy trophy.

In 2017-18, his 39 Shield wickets at 21.84 was the second most in the competition, while his prowess in the limited overs arena also extended to the bat where he scored first one-day century with a counter-attacking 122 against WA almost snatching a remarkable victory in a high-scoring clash.

Johnson, who was also named as the Fire Players’ Player, did not falter for Queensland during the summer.

The Lismore product was the equal leading wicket-taker for the Fire with her nine dismissals coming at the lowest average of 16.44 while she was also the second highest runs-scorer with 157 runs at 31.40.

The season awards were presented at tonight’s function at the Royal Exhibition Centre at the RNA Showgrounds.

The Brisbane Heat club MVP awards were also announced during the evening with Pakistani leg-spinner Yasir Shah named as the male MVP and Australian T20 star Beth Mooney announced as the female MVP for the third year in a row.

Mooney, who was also named as the ICC’s T20 player of the year earlier this year, has continued her strong form for Australia in their current ODI and T20 tour of India.

A trio of players were acknowledged for the careers, including Queensland’s most-capped international women’s player Jodie Fields who retired in 2017, and Bulls batsman Peter Forrest and Fire pace bowler Kara Sutherland.

Forrest capped off his final season as a Queensland contracted player with the Queensland Academy of Sport player of the year and Bulls Players’ Player award.

The former Australian batsman will return to Sydney after accepting a role as player-coach with Hawkesbury in the NSW Premier Cricket competition.

Forrest was the leading runs-scorer in the Toyota Futures League 2nd XI competition with 759 runs at 75.9, including 3 centuries and 3 half centuries in six matches.

He also was a generous and insightful mentor to many young players in the Bulls and QAS squads.

Rising fast bowler Brendan Doggett capped off an outstanding debut season with the Sheffield Shield Player of the Year award.

In a tight field, Doggett was rewarded for his maiden first class season, taking 28 wickets in seven matches, and joining an elite group of players who have taken a five-wicket haul in a Sheffield Shield Final.

Queensland captain Usman Khawaja claimed the JLT One Day Cup player of the year award.

Far North Queensland’s Trisha Spry was the Queensland Volunteer of the Year. She was the driving force behind new In2Cricket and T20 Blast Centres at the Mareeba Cricket Club as well as being instrumental in establishing a six team FBQ women’s competition.

2017-18 Queensland Cricket Awards
Ian Healy Trophy Bulls Player of the Year: Michael Neser
Konica Minolta Queensland Fire Player of the Year: Sammy-Jo Johnson
Brisbane Heat MVP: Yasir Shah
WBBL Brisbane Heat MVP: Beth Mooney
Bulls Players’ Player: Peter Forrest
Fire Players’ Player: Sammy-Jo Johnson
Sheffield Shield Player of the Year: Brendan Doggett
JLT One Day Cup Player of the Year: Usman Khawaja
Queensland Academy of Sport Player of the Year: Peter Forrest
State Government Queensland Country Male Player of the Year: Mitchell English (Mackay)
State Government Queensland Country Female Player of the Year: Stephanie Baldwin (Townsville)
Queensland Thunder Indoor Player of the Year: Adrian Lascu
Queensland Lightning Indoor Player of the Year: Meagan Dixon
Qld Fire Fielders Award: Kirby Short
Qld Bulls Fielder of the Year: Michael Neser

Other awards
Qld Volunteer of the Year: Trisha Spry (Mareeba)