Peirson tore his tendon during pre-season training and had an operation last week in Melbourne.

Peirson, who captained the Bulls to last season’s Shield title while deputizing for regular Queensland captain Usman Khawaja, will begin rehabilitation as soon as he is able.

Queensland coach Wade Seccombe said the injury was a setback but he was confident the squad could overcome the absence of their first-choice gloveman for the start of the season in September.

“You accept that injuries are a part and parcel of the game but certainly the wicket-keeper fills a pretty specific role in the team and is not easy to replace,’’ he said.

“Add into the mix Jimmy’s leadership and it does present us with a few challenges; but on the flipside, it also creates some opportunities to work on between now and the start of the season.”

“We’re fortunate that Lachy Pfeffer has the benefit of coming into his second year as a contracted player so he will get plenty of opportunities to build-up his ‘keeping workload.

“We also have a core of emerging keepers in Tom Healy and Lewin Malady, who are both former Australian U-19 players, and Isiah Snell who have been involved with national and state pathway programs in recent years and have performed well at Premier Cricket level.”

Seccombe confirmed that allrounder Jason Floros, named on the 2018-19 Bulls contracted player list, had informed QC of his decision to relinquish his contract to focus on completing his tertiary studies before moving into full time employment.

“Flo has always been a consummate team man and squad member and his decision to hand back a contract and create a spot in the squad speaks highly of his character,’’ Seccombe said. “We congratulate him on his career with the Bulls and thank him for his dedication and generosity, especially as a leader with in the group.”

Floros, 27, joined the Bulls as a rookie player in 2009 and played 15 first class and 28 one-day games for Queensland, including a stint as captain of the limited overs side.

He produced a match-shaping knock of 47 not out to help Queensland win the rain-affected 2012-13 Ryobi Cup Final against Victoria at the MCG and was also a member of the 2013-14 team that defeated NSW in Sydney to claim back-to-back one-day titles.

Australian One Day contender Chris Lynn will now receive a Bulls playing contract ahead of the JLT Cup which starts in Townsville on September 16 when Queensland takes on Victoria at Riverway Stadium.

Lynn, who departs along with Ben Cutting for the Caribbean Premier League next week, will be named vice-captain to Khawaja for the one-day competition and said he was excited about the prospects of resuming his one-day career for Queensland.

“It’s been a few years since I have been a part of the group for the limited overs competition so I’m looking forward to getting involved and hopefully help us to play some good cricket,’’ he said.

“I’ve enjoyed training with the boys in the off-season and am keen to get into the playing side of things again, first with the Knight Riders in the CPL and then the JLT Cup,’’ he said.

Queensland will play practice matches this week on the Gold Coast at Bill Pippen Oval, with their squad complemented by the arrival of eight players from Auckland Cricket who will join in for the mixture of one-day and T20 games.

Included in the Kiwi contingent is former NSW Blues spinner Will Somerville who made the decision to return home to Auckland at the end of last season to push for selection with the Black Caps.

The other New Zealand guest players are Denru Ferns, Louis Delport, Ben Lister, Robert O’Donnell, Jamie Brown, Matt McEwan and Aniket Parikh.

Also named in the practice teams is Wynnum-Manly teenager Corey Hunter, who scored a Premier Cricket century last season in his two-day debut for the Sea Eagles, and experienced Valley allrounder Andrew Gode.

Matches and squads are as follows (all games at Bill Pippen Oval, Kerrydale):

Tues Jul31

T20 game (12pm - 3pm )

Team One: Max Bryant, Jack Wildermuth, Marnus Labuschagne, Andrew Gode, Corey Hunter, Lachy Pfeffer, Jack Prestwidge, Will Somerville, Matt Kuhnemann, Jamie Brown, Xavier Bartlett.

Team Two: Sam Truloff, Angus Lovell, Charlie Hemphrey, Robert O'Donnell, Michael Neser, Lewin Malady, Matt McEwan, Mark Steketee, Aniket Parikh, Mitch Swepson, Brendan Doggett.

Wed Aug1

One Day practice game (9.30am - 5.30pm)

Team One: Max Bryant, Andrew Gode, Marnus Labuschagne, Corey Hunter, Jack Wildermuth, Lachy Pfeffer, Jack Prestwidge, Will Somerville, Jamie Brown, Danru Ferns, Peter George.

Team Two: Sam Truloff, Angus Lovell, Robert O’Donnell, Charlie Hemphrey, Lewin Malady, Michael Neser, Matt McEwan, Aniket Parikh, Mitch Swepson, Ben Lister, Billy Stanlake.

Friday Aug3

One Day practice game (9.30am - 5.30pm)

Team One:

Max Bryant, Corey Hunter, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Jack Wildermuth, Lachy Pfeffer, Will Somerville, Matt Kuhnemann, Xavier Bartlett, Jamie Brown, Peter George.

Team Two: Sam Truloff, Tom Healy, Robert O’Donnell, Charlie Hemphrey, Angus Lovell, Michael Neser, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson, Brendan Doggett, Louis Delport, Billy Stanlake.


T20 practice games (9.30am - 12.30pm & 1pm - 4pm)

Team One: Max Bryant, Sam Heazlett, Jack Wildermuth, Marnus Labuschagne, Corey Hunter, Lachy Pfeffer, Jack Prestwidge, Matt Kuhnemann, Denru Ferns, Jamie Brown, Connor Sully.

Team Two: Sam Truloff, Charlie Hemphrey, Michael Neser, Robert O’Donnell, Angus Lovell, Tom Healy, Mark Steketee, Jamie McEwan, Mitch Swepson, Louis Delport, Brendan Doggett.