Valley wicket-keeper/batsman Lachlan Pfeffer has been included in the Shield squad for the first time with the Laidley product named in the twelve for the match starting next Thursday.

Pfeffer has been a consistent producer of runs at Queensland Premier Cricket level for Valley, including four centuries so far this season, and scored 117 for the Queensland Academy of Sport in November in their Toyota Futures League 2nd XI game.

A left-handed top order batsman, he also played against the English Lions squad before Christmas.

In his first season in the Bulls squad, the school teacher will play as a batsman in this match with Jimmy Peirson taking the gloves.

Paceman Brendan Doggett will be assessed next week before the game after an ankle injury ruled him out of the Prime Minister’s XI clash with England later this week.

Queensland sits in second spot on the Shield ladder, with the Tigers behind them in third spot.

Meanwhile Toombul paceman and captain Ronan McDonald and Norths quick Jack Prestwidge have been called up for their first second XI games of the season, named in the Queensland Academy of Sport side to play NSW in the Toyota Futures League match from Monday at Blacktown.

Prestwidge was a contracted player with the Brisbane Heat in the recent BBL while McDonald, who made his Bulls debut as a teenager, is joined by another first-time selection this season in Sunshine Coast captain Alecz Day.

Day, an allrounder who has played first class cricket for Wellington in New Zealand, scored 60 in each innings in his only other Futures League game in 2016.

University of Queensland wicket-keeper Mitchell Fry also earns his first 2nd XI cap in the side.

The Futures League game doubles as the annual Syd Gregory Cup clash, which Queensland currently holds.

Both matches will be scored live on and the Bulls match will be live-streamed.

JLT Sheffield Shield, Round 6
Queensland v Tasmania, the Gabba
Thursday 8 Feb – Sunday 11 Feb

My FootDr Queensland Bulls

Usman Khawaja (c)
Brendan Doggett
Luke Feldman
Sam Heazlett
Marnus Labuschagne
Michael Neser
James Peirson
Lachlan Pfeffer
Matthew Renshaw
Mark Steketee
Mitch Swepson
Jack Wildermuth

Toyota Futures League
Mon – Thurs, Blacktown

Sam Truloff (Wests, c)
Alecz Day (Sunshine Coast)
Jason Floros (Wynnum-Manly)
Peter Forrest (University of Qld)
Mitchell Fry (University of Qld)
Cameron Gannon (Norths)
Charlie Hemphrey (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Matthew Kuhnemann (Gold Coast)
Ronan McDonald (Toombul)
Jack Prestwidge (Norths)
Bryce Street (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Harry Wood (Ipswich/Logan)