Uni has claimed a string of John McKnoulty Cup wins in the past decade, emphasising a theme where they have enjoyed sustained success in white ball cricket.

The Blues will go into the limited overs decider against Wests with the nucleus of the squad that claimed the Bulls Masters two-day title and Kookaburra T20 trophy last season.

Wests though will be stern opposition, holding their nerve in admirable fashion to win their semi-final against Wynnum-Manly last weekend.

Off-season pick-up Brendan Smith has been a find at the top of the order, with the Australian Indigenous representative picking up a century and two half centuries, including 55 last week, so far in the one-day arena.

Smith, who followed Indigenous teammate Jonte Pattison from NSW to Wests, shapes as a key batsman for Wests, who will also look to evergreen left-hander Steve Paulsen to continue his prolific limited overs form.

Young batsman Jarrod Sippel, younger brother of WBBL Brisbane Heat and Konica Minolta Queensland Fire allrounder Courtney, has made a solid fist of his time in the top grade so far this season with a dashing 62 from 48 balls tipping the run chase in his team’s favour in last week’s semi-final.

University of Queensland have relied on the guile and experience of left-arm paceman Scott Walter to guide their attack so far, but will also be excited at the prospects of towering left-armer Matt Willans to make an impact.

Willans, a Queensland Bulls rookie contracted player this season, picked up 4-34 in the semi-final win over Ipswich/Logan last weekend.

The Final will be played at the neutral venue of Redlands’ home ground, the Peter Burge Oval, and live-streamed at https://matchcentre.premier.qld.cricket.com.au/

The two clubs will also meet in the Alan Pettigrew Shield one-day Final, which will be held at WEP Harris Oval at St Lucia on Sunday.