The annual Queensland Cricket Awards Dinner, held tonight at Brisbane City Hall, also recognized the contributions of three of the State’s most influential female players in recent years.
Star batsman Marnus Labuschagne was a multiple winner on the night, with his superb summer earning him the Ian Healy Trophy as the overall best Queensland Bulls player as well as the Sheffield Shield Player of the Year.
Georgia Redmayne did likewise, claiming her inaugural Queensland Fire Player of the Year award as well as the Fire Players’ Player award.
Two of the world’s best T20 players took out the major honours for the Brisbane Heat, with New Zealand star Amelia Kerr claiming the WBBL Heat MVP and all-time BBL leading runs-scorer Chris Lynn taking out the club’s BBL MVP award.
Labuschagne, who was judged the player of the Sheffield Shield Final for his magnificent 192 in Queensland’s emphatic win over NSW at Allan Border Field earlier in the week, was dominant for the Bulls at the front and back end of the season.
Bookended by another eye-catching Test series for Australia in the exciting Border-Gavaskar Trophy and a striking BBL cameo for the Brisbane Heat, Labuschagne starred with the bat for Queensland, finishing with 821 runs in Shield cricket including four centuries and an average of 82.10.
Redmayne was similarly impressive. The Australia ‘A’ representative was the leading runs-scorer for the Queensland Fire in their Women’s National Cricket League campaign that secured the State its historic maiden WNCL championship.
Redmayne captained the team in the Final in the absence of Australian allrounder and regular skipper Jess Jonassen who was in New Zealand with the national squad, and led by example with an unbeaten century in the Final against Victoria.
In her eight WNCL innings, she produced two scores in the 90s and two unbeaten centuries to finish as the competition’s second leading runs-scorer with 531 at a remarkable average of 132.75.
She also had 11 catches and two stumpings as a fielder and wicket-keeper.
Leg-spinner Mitch Swepson was the Bulls Players’ Player, with teammates acknowledging the impact he had on their season with his bowling performances that saw him finish as the team’s leading wicket-taker in the Shield (and second highest overall) with 32 wickets including a career-best 10 wicket haul in a match.
The QC Volunteer of the Year award was presented to Andrew Short from the Charleville Cricket Association.
Short was joined at the dinner by other members of ‘Kaspa’s Crew’, the Queensland Cricket Volunteer Recognition Program that came into existence 18 seasons ago when Queensland and Australian pace bowler Michael Kasprowicz agreed to be the face of the inaugural initiative.
Australian World Cup winning captain Jodie Purves was officially inducted into the QC Women’s Hall of Fame after the planned ceremony last year was cancelled due to the COVID-19 lockdown.
Former Queensland Fire and WBBL Heat captain Kirby Short was likewise officially farewelled after retiring at the end of the 2019-20 season after a 15-year career that saw her lead the Heat to back-to-back WBBL titles.
And Australian, Queensland and Heat allrounder Delissa Kimmince also bowed out in style after announcing her retirement last week in the wake of a glittering 15-year career that saw her feature in three World Cup winning teams.
The Warwick product played in Queensland’s first national women’s title win, the 2013-14 WT20 championship, and was then a key member of the WBBL Brisbane Heat’s historic two-time championship team.

For the second year in a row, Gladstone batsman Sam Lowry was the Queensland Country Player of the Year.
Queensland Cricket 2020-21 Award Winners 

Ian Healy Trophy – Marnus Labuschagne 
Queensland Fire Player of the Year – Georgia Redmayne 
Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne 
Marsh One Day Cup Player of the Year – Billy Stanlake 
Queensland Fire Player’s Player – Georgia Redmayne 
Queensland Bulls Player’s Player – Mitch Swepson 
Brisbane Heat WBBL MVP – Amelia Kerr 
Brisbane Heat BBL MVP – Chris Lynn 
Country Player of the Year – Sam Lowry 
Queensland Cricket Volunteer of the Year – Andrew Short, Charleville Cricket Association 
Graham Dixon Award for Staff Achievement – Teeny Aitken 

2020-21 Volunteers of the Year – Kaspa's Crew 
Darrin Neumann
Nick Egan
Steve Casey
Martin Bristow
Andrew Short
Dan O’Connor
Dillon West
Joel Bock
Tony Potts
2020-21 QC Volunteer of the Year: Andrew Short (Charleville Cricket Assoc)