The Queensland Sport For All Awards winners coordinated by Queensland Cricket has produced eight nominations that have made the shortlist for Cricket Australia’s National Awards night on 24 May in Melbourne.

The awards were created this year to highlight and celebrate community cricket and acknowledge the enormous contributions of community clubs, associations, indoor centres, administrators, coaches and volunteers.

The awards also recognize that many of these volunteers go above and beyond expectations to make cricket a sport for all Australians.

The inaugural Queensland winners were:

Community Cricket Club of the Year Kingaroy Junior Cricket Club
Cricket Association of the Year                      Mackay Cricket Association
Premier Cricket Club of the Year                    Gold Coast Dolphins*
Community Cricket Initiative of the Year  Toowoomba Girls Cricket Hub
Junior Cricket Program of the Year                Souths Juniors*
Partner Organisation of the Year                    WIN (South West Indigenous Network)*
Community Facility Project of the Year          Mulgrave Indoor Nets*
Ambassador of the Year                                Paul Anderson (Mackay)
Volunteer of the Year                                      Trish Spry* (Mareeba)
Junior Program Champion of the Year          Rob Bailey* (Valley/Brisbane North)
Community Umpire of the Year                      Ron Buchholz*
Community Coach of the Year                        Daryl Forrest* (Cooroy/Sunshine Coast)

The eight nominees that will feature at the national ceremony are indicated by *.

The successful Queensland nominees each received a signed Brisbane Heat bat and a framed certificate while Queensland's Volunteer of the Year, Trisha Spry from Mareeba received a trophy at the Annual QC Awards dinner last month.

Spry was the driving force behind establishing new In2Cricket and T20 Blast Centres at the Mareeba Cricket Club as well as being instrumental in creating a six team FNQ women’s competition.

Queensland Cricket Chief Executive Officer Max Walters thanked all nominees for the Queensland awards and congratulated the successful candidates.

“Our volunteers are what make our game great and the inaugural Sport For All Awards are an ideal chance for us to promote cricket and those individuals and organisations who work so hard to make it a game accessible to everyone,’’ he said.

“The successful Queensland nominees cover a wide cross section of the game – juniors, premier clubs, Indigenous and women and girls, both in metropolitan and regional areas. They reflect the deep roots cricket has in the community and provide a crystal-clear example of why sport is so important to us.”

“We congratulate those who have earned the opportunity to tell their story on the national stage later this month and wish them all the best.

"At the same time, we thank each and every volunteer who works so hard at the coalface on their contributions to Queensland Cricket’s purpose: To deliver outstanding life experiences for Queensland communities, anywhere, anytime,’’ Walters said.