Queensland has unveiled its Under-17 squad for the National Championships in Mackay and Brisbane in October.
The Queensland squad named today includes four players from last year’s Cricket Australia XI in Sandgate-Redcliffe duo Mitchell Pascoe (allrounder) and Jet Liebke (wicket-keeper) as well as Norths pace bowler Will Prestwidge and University of Queensland allrounder Will Sanders.
Gold Coast batsman Hugo Burdon, a student at The Southport School, will captain the team after representing Queensland at last season’s championships in Tasmania.
Regional players again have emerged from the Queensland Cricket Pathway and Academy system, including Toowoomba’s Harrison Weir and Townsville’s Matthew Wiseman.
Weir, a Toowoomba Grammar School student, performed strongly at the State Under-16 Challenge at the start of the year and was part of an extended winter training squad along with several members of the squad announced today.
Wiseman plays for Norths in Townsville.
Toowoomba Wests player Sam Neale was one of two stand-by players named for the squad along with Wynnum-Manly’s Sam Hatherall.
The U16 Male Challenge is part of Queensland Cricket’s Pathway program and provides players from throughout the State with the opportunity to showcase their skills in a competitive environment.
Redlands batsman Dylan Kritzinger gains a spot in the Queensland side after being a standby-by player for the Australian Under-16 team earlier in the year and will play alongside his Tigers teammate, 15-year-old off-spinner Jackson Sinfield.
There are strong links to a previous generation of Queensland players with Prestwidge, the younger brother of Brisbane Heat and Queensland players Jack and Georgia and son of former Bulls allrounder Scott, and Pascoe, the nephew of ex-Queensland quick Matthew.
The team will be coached by former English international allrounder Adam Hollioake, with John Davison as the assistant coach. The physiotherapist is former Queensland batsman Jerry Cassell, who is also the current Gold Coast Dolphins coach in the Queensland Premier cricket competition.
Meanwhile four more promising Queensland players will turn out for the CA XI that will compete in the championships.
Ipswich/Logan leg-spinner Dylan McAteer, Aubrey Stockdale (Toombul) and the Norths duo of Noah McFadyen and Toby Snell were named in the Australian Under-16 squad earlier in the year.

Mackay will play host to the first week of the 2018-19 Cricket Australia Under 17 Male National Championships, proudly presented by Woolworths.

The tournament, to be played from 1 October to 11 October, will see the first four rounds of matches hosted in Central Queensland thanks to the backing of the Mackay Regional Council and Harrup Park Country Club, with the following four rounds played in Brisbane.

Matches in Mackay will be played at the Harrup Park complex and Magpies CC, with day-night cricket to feature at domestic Under 17 level for the first time at Harrup Park.

2018-19 Queensland U17 Team
National Championships in Mackay & Brisbane (1st – 11th Oct 2018).

Hugo Burdon (c) (Gold Coast)
Dylan Kritzinger (Redlands)
Jet Liebke (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Nick McGill (Valley)
Mitchell Pascoe (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Will Prestwidge (Northern Suburbs)
Will Sanders (University)
Jackson Sinfield (Redlands)
Will Trigar (Ipswich/Logan)
Ryan Walker (Toombul)
Harrison Weir (Darling Downs, Western Suburbs)
Jed Wilson (Wynnum/Manly)
Matthew Wiseman (North Queensland)
Standby Players
Sam Hatherall (Wynnum/Manly)
Sam Neale (Darling Downs, Ipswich/Logan)