Queensland claimed a top-two finalist position in seven of the 12 national A Sport For All categories that celebrate the work and achievements of the community cricket volunteers who dedicate their time and energy into ensuring cricket is a game that can be played and enjoyed by all Australians.  

The 2019-20 A Sport For All Awards finalists are being announced in line with Volunteering Australia’s National Volunteer Week, which runs from May 18-24 under the banner Changing Lives, Changing Communities.  

Queensland has been recognised as a top-two finalist in the Association of the Year, Indoor Facility of the Year, Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year, Technology and Media Initiative of the Year, Women and Girls Initiative of the Year, Celebrating Cricket in Schools, and Community Coach of the Year categories.  

Toowoomba Cricket Association were shortlisted as the national Association of the Year after excelling in providing great experiences for participants and stakeholders in the Darling Downs region. Highlights from the year include launching the inaugural Darling Downs Bush Bash League, the successful hosting of the Australian Country Cricket Championships, the growth of women and girls cricket, and the continued development of multicultural programs, which has included an ongoing partnership with the South West Indigenous Network.  

Wildcatz Indoor Sports in Townsville has been named a finalist in the Indoor Facility of the Year for their work in engaging junior and entry-level participants for 12-months of the year, highlighted by the running of the Clontarf Regional Cricket Carnival in November, a school-based Indigenous mentoring and leadership program.  

Mackay Cricket Association (MCA) has been shortlisted for the Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year after leading the way in innovative and inclusive programs for junior cricketers. MCA’s focus on community objectives saw them outline a pathway for girl's cricket to take them from entry-level through to club cricket, while also launching an innovative 100 ball competition played under lights in conjunction with senior club cricket.  

Sunshine Coast teenager Ben Baker has been nominated for the Technology and Media Initiative of the Year award. The 14-year-old Maroochydoore Cricket Club player has developed an online umpiring training platform for the Sunshine Coast Cricket Association that allows current and prospective umpires to sharpen their skills and learn the laws of cricket in a digital and interactive forum.  

Holland Park Cricket Club’s ‘Girls Only Zone’ has seen them shortlisted for the Women and Girls Initiative of the Year. The Girls Only Zone has grown from two coaches and two players five years ago when it launched, to nine coaches and up to 50 players per week today where girls play and learn the game in a fun and friendly environment.  

Margo Macintosh from the Catholic Secondary Schools Sports Association (CSSSA) is nominated in the Celebrating Cricket in Schools category for the work she has done in bringing cricket to the association. Under Margo’s leadership, the CSSSA Cup was launched in 2020 featuring eight schools, with plans to add more in the coming years.  

Kim Williams from the Clermont Junior Cricket Association has been shortlisted as the Community Coach of the Year. Kim has been the driving force behind community cricket in Clermont and Central Queensland in a stanza that has seen him coach multiple teams from Master Blaster to junior representative level, while also serving as President of the Clermont Junior Cricket Club.  

Commenting on the QLD A Sport For All winners and national finalists, Queensland Cricket Chief Executive Officer Terry Svenson said: 

“It goes without saying, but the wonderful volunteers we have in the cricket family help make the game what it is. Without them we know cricket doesn’t run. 

“As we have seen with our state winners and national finalists, we have a lot of great volunteers in Queensland doing amazing things to grow the game and ensure we are producing lifelong participants and fans.  

“While there are a lot of Queenslanders doing it tough currently, it is great we can still celebrate the contributions our volunteers make to our communities. We know that grassroots sport and cricket are going to play a big role in bringing people together once restrictions allow us to, and Queensland Cricket will be there to support our volunteers, clubs and associations every step of the way.  

“Congratulations to all of Queensland’s A Sport For All national nominees and state winners, and thank you to all our volunteers for everything you do.” 

Queensland Cricket continues to keep clubs and associations up to date regarding the State Government’s advice around returning to play and training for community sport.  

Queensland A Sport For All Winners 



Community Coach of the Year

Kim Williams (Clermont Junior Cricket Association)

Club of the Year

Monto Junior Cricket Club

Young Community Leader

Jack Dwyer (Proserpine Junior Cricket Association)

Women and Girls Initiative

Holland Park Cricket Club

Technology & Media Initiative

Ben Baker (Sunshine Coast Cricket Association)

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year

RayMoxly(QLD Blind Cricket)

Cricket in Schools

Catholic Secondary School Sports Association

Indoor Facility of the Year

TownsvilleWildcatzIndoor Centre

Community Partnership

Coolum Cricket Club

Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year

Mackay Cricket Association

Association of the Year

Toowoomba Cricket Association

Community Match Official of the Year

John Baldwin (Townsville)