Queensland Cricket is very proud of the outstanding contribution these volunteers make to the success of cricket in Queensland, and the work of these individuals, clubs and associations make at the grassroots level represents a major stake in the overall strength of the game.

Twelve incredible volunteers were inducted into Kaspa’s Crew at the Queensland Cricket Awards Dinner last Thursday evening. Kaspa’s Crew, Queensland Cricket’s volunteer recognition program reached its 20-year milestone this year and celebrates the incredible volunteers who strive to make our game Queensland’s favourite sport. This year’s overall Volunteer of the year was Steve Larrescy from Beaudesert Cricket. About a year and a half ago, Steve lost the use of his legs after suffering a spinal stroke. He spent 8 months in Greenslopes hospital and has undergone intensive physiotherapy to try and get life back in his legs. Today he is able to walk with the assistance of crutches and he still spends up to 16 hours each week looking after Everdell and Selwyn Park.

Beaudesert Cricket President, Leigh Morgan, said Steve’s commitment to the Club has been outstanding. “It’s been absolutely huge, nobody gives up that amount of time for that number of years, let alone getting an illness like he’s had – as soon as he could walk again he was back mowing,” she said.

Congratulations to all of the new inductees to Kaspa’s Crew! 



Queensland Cricket would also like to congratulate the finalists in the annual National Community Cricket Awards. These awards celebrate the vast contribution of volunteers as well as the many ground-breaking programs and initiatives that have helped enhance the experience of players across Australia. Staged during National Volunteer Week, the awards will be streamed on Cricket Australia’s Facebook and Youtube on May 19 from 7pm EST. Congratulations to Andrew Watson, finalist for the Community Coach of the Year and to Herbert River Cricket Club, finalist for the Junior Initiative of the Year


Volunteer of the Year winners: 



Community Cricket Award Winners (QLD): 


Cricket in Schools – Simon Gills

Match Official of the Year – Grey Payne

Community Partnership of the Year – Garbutt Magpies + Wests magpies 

Indoor facility of the Year – Action Indoor Toowoomba

Technology & media initiative of the year – Dean Smith

Junior Cricket Initiative of the year – Herbert river Cricket Club

Young leader of the year – Millan Agarwal