For the first time, Premier Cricket clubs from around Australia will compete for a national trophy when the winners of each state's T20 competition play off in the inaugural CA Foxtel National Premier T20 Championships in March next year. 

Queensland clubs get their qualifying campaign underway this weekend when round one of the Tom Veivers Cup begins, awarded to the winners of the Kookaburra T20 First Grade Competition. 

WATCH: National Premier T20 Championship

Opening round highlights include the return of Brisbane Heat star Chris Lynn to Toombul colours when the Bulls take on Western Suburbs and Ipswich / Logan at Ken Mackay Oval on Saturday. 

Allan Border Field, which will be the scene of the competition's final on January 27, will host matches between South Brisbane and three-time defending T20 champions Sandgate - Redcliffe, and South Brisbane versus Redlands.

Brisbane Heat squad members Josh Lalor (Redlands) and Alex Ross (Valley) will also be in action this weekend. 

Saturday December 15 will play host to Rivalry Round, pitting the competition's local teams against each other, highlighted by Northern Suburbs and Toombul playing out a star-studded match a Ian Healy Oval.

Lynn will line up with Matthew Renshaw, fresh from his record-breaking 345 on the weekendfor Toombul, while Norths will feature fellow Heat squad members Joe Burns and Jack Prestwidge. The match will be live-streamed on the Brisbane Heat Facebook page.

All Heat squad members will tune up for the club's first game on December 19 by turning out for their clubs during Rivalry Round.

The Kookaburra First Grade T20 Competition will run through to January 27, with the winner to represent Queensland at the National Premier T20 Championships in Adelaide. 

The ten-team National Championships will include the winner of each state and territory's respective competitions, with Victoria and New South Wales to each send two teams. 

Kookaburra T20 Competition Round One - Saturday December 8

Gold Coast vs Sunshine Coast - Graceville Memorial Park at 10am
University of QLD vs Wynnum/Manly - WEP Harris Oval at 10am
Valley vs Ipswich / Logan - Peter Easton Oval at 10am
South Brisbane vs Sandgate - Redcliffe - Allan Border Field at 10am
Northern Suburbs vs Redlands - Ian Healy Oval at 10am
Toombul vs Western Suburbs - Ken Mackay Oval at 10am

Kookaburra T20 Competition Round Two - Saturday December 8

Sunshine Coast vs Wynnum/Manly at Graceville Memorial Park at 2:30pm
University of QLD vs Gold Coast - WEP Harris Oval at 2:30pm
Valley vs Sandgate-Redcliffe - Peter Easton Oval at 2:30pm
South Brisbane vs Redlands - Allan Border Field at 2:30pm
Northern Suburbs vs Western Suburbs - Ian Healy Oval at 2:30pm
Toombul vs Ipswich / Logan - Ken Mackay Oval at 2:30pm

Kookaburra T20 Competition Round Three - Sunday December 9

Gold Coast vs Wynnum/Manly - Bill Pippen Oval at 2:15pm
Redlands vs Valley - Peter Burge Oval at 2:15pm
Ipswich / Logan vs UQ - Baxter Oval at 2:15pm
Sunshine Coast vs Northern Suburbs - Kerry Emery Oval at 2:15pm
South Brisbane vs Toombul - Norman Gray Oval at 2:15pm
Western Suburbs vs Sandgate-Redcliffe - Graceville Memorial Park at 2:15pm

All fixtures available at MyCricket.