Queensland’s community cricket champions have been celebrated at last night’s national Sport For All awards night in Melbourne.


Queensland had eight nominations shortlisted for the ceremony, with four of them receiving national awards from Cricket Australia.


The event celebrates the incredible contribution to the game of cricket by its volunteers, clubs and associations and coincides with National Volunteers Week.


There were 12 awards on offer across the evening with the two finalists in each category selected from award recipients in each Australian State and Territory.


There were three individual Queenslanders acknowledged and one club.


The State’s national winners were:


Souths Junior Cricket Club (QLD) won the Junior Cricket Program of the Year for their promotion of girls playing cricket, as well as their inclusivity of children from non-traditional backgrounds in their junior programs.


Robert Bailey (QLD) won the Junior Cricket Champion of the Year award for his work with promoting opportunities for girls to play cricket. A member of the Valley club, Robert has set a target of girls making up one-third of juniors playing cricket at Brisbane North by 2023. He even had shirts for the girls’ camps made with ‘1 in 3 by 2023’ emblazoned on them.


For work done creating sustainable programs to look after umpires, and bring more umpires to the game, Ron Buchholz (QLD) won the Community Official of the Year award. The Gympie-based official fills multiple roles for cricket in Wide Bay, and his focus on developing and growing officials over a large region earned commendation.


The Community Cricket Coach of the Year award was won by Darrel Forrest (QLD). The Cooroy coach in the Sunshine Coast Cricket Association works across all ages and levels of cricket, ensuring that everything he does is aimed at deepening his players’ enjoyment of game and developing their skills.


Queensland Cricket CEO Max Walters congratulated the successful candidates and thanked them for their continuing commitment to making cricket the sport of choice for all.


“The individuals, clubs and associations concerned have done marvellous things, and we are very proud that their contribution to Australian Cricket has been recognised in this manner,’’ he said.


“The great thing about these awards is that it reminds us that the exceptional efforts from these individuals and clubs who have been recognised at a national level, is also replicated at varying levels throughout the State by a whole range of volunteers.”


“They are all deserving of such accolades and we thank them for their passion and dedication to the game.’’


A Recognition of Service was also awarded to Indoor Cricket National Coaches Ross Gregory and Queensland’s Donna Dalby.


2018 A Sport For All Award Winners


Community Ambassador of the Year: Sam Atukorala (VIC)

Community Facility Project of the Year: Sheffield Cricket Club (TAS)

Community Official of the Year: Ron Buchholz (QLD)

Partner Organisation of the Year: New Horizons Club (TAS)

Community Cricket Coach of the Year: Darrel Forrest (QLD)

Premier Cricket Club of the Year: Adelaide University Cricket Club (SA)

Junior Cricket Program of the Year: Souths Junior Cricket Club (QLD)

Junior Cricket Champion of the Year: Rob Bailey (QLD)

Community Cricket Initiative of the Year: Ballardong Cricket Academy (WA)

Cricket Association of the Year: Orange District Junior Cricket Association (NSW)

Community Club of the Year: Edinburgh Cricket Club (VIC)

Volunteer of the Year: Jason Schmidt (TAS)

Recognition of Service: Ross Gregory and Donna Dalby

The 2017-18 Queensland winners were:


Community Cricket Club of the Year                        Kingaroy Junior Cricket Club

Cricket Association of the Year                                  Mackay Cricket Association

Premier Cricket Club of the Year                               Gold Coast Dolphins*

Community Cricket Initiative of the Year                Toowoomba Girls Cricket Hub

Junior Cricket Program of the Year                           Souths Juniors*

Partner Organisation of the Year                              SWIN (South West Indigenous Network)*

Community Facility Project of the Year                    Mulgrave Indoor Nets*

Ambassador of the Year                                                Paul Anderson (Mackay)

Volunteer of the Year                                                 Trish Spry* (Mareeba)

Junior Program Champion of the Year                     Rob Bailey* (Valley/Brisbane North)

Community Umpire of the Year                                Ron Buchholz*

Community Coach of the Year                                   Daryl Forrest* (Cooroy/Sunshine Coast)