Taylor is the only new appointment on the Supplementary Umpires Panel, taking the place of Darren Close who has been elevated to the National Panel.

Originally from NSW where he played Premier Grade cricket with Penrith before umpiring 78 top grade games, Taylor has been based on the Gold Coast since 2015 where he has been a member of the Queensland State Panel.

Taylor will hope to follow in the pathway of fellow Queensland official Donovan Koch, who enters his second year on the National panel after being elevated from the Supplementary Panel in 2019.

Koch, who played First-Class and List A cricket in South Africa, started his umpiring career in the United Kingdom before moving to Queensland in 2012.



2020-21 National Umpire Panel:

Gerard Abood
Darren Close
Shawn Craig
Greg Davidson
Phil Gillespie
Mike Graham-Smith
Donovan Koch
Sam Nogajski
Tony Wilds
Paul Wilson

2020-21 Supplementary Umpire Panel:
Nathan Johnstone
Simon Lightbody
Troy Penman
Claire Polosak
David Taylor
Ben Treloar
2020-21 International Umpire Panel (nominated to ICC as umpires for Men’s International matches):
Gerard Abood
Shawn Craig
Sam Nogajski
Paul Wilson

Darren Close has been elevated to the National Umpire Panel, completing his comeback to the top tier of officiating. After debuting as a First Class umpire in 1987 aged 18, Close stood in 20 First Class and two List A matches before leaving the game in 1992. After a 27-yer absence, he returned to the First Class arena last summer and has been rewarded with a position on the National panel.

David Taylor will fill the vacancy created by Close in the Supplementary Umpire Panel, while the four-member International Panel remains unchanged from 2019-20.

Cricket Australia acknowledges the contribution of Geoff Joshua, whose contract has not been renewed. He stood in 171 domestic matches and 17 Women’s internationals across all formats over the past decade.

The changes, plus the retirements of Simon Fry and John Ward, mean the National Umpire Panel has been reduced from 12 members to 10 for season 2020-21. The Supplementary Umpire Panel will remain at six members.

“We’d like to congratulate all 16 umpires named in the National and Supplementary Umpire Panels for the 2020-21 season,” Peter Roach, Cricket Australia Head of Cricket Operations, said.

“We also thank Geoff Joshua for his service throughout his time on the Umpire Panel, in addition to the retiring Simon Fry and John Ward.”

Queensland based umpires Paul Reiffel and Bruce Oxenford remain on the ICC Elite Panel.

The NUP primarily officiate in the Sheffield Shield, One-Day Cup and KFC Big Bash League competitions, while the SUP primarily officiate in the Women’s National Cricket League, Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, Toyota Futures League and CA Underage National Championships.