University of Queensland might have lost skipper Scott Henry to injury but the Blues will still back themselves to make an impact on the inaugural FOX Cricket National Premier T20 Championships in Adelaide today and tomorrow.

Henry, the ex-Queensland and NSW batsman, broke a thumb recently but UQ have still taken a strong line-up away.

Towering young left-arm paceman Matt Willans (a centimetre taller than Billy Stanlake) and the evergreen left-armer Scott Walter (who has taken more 500 wickets in all formats in grade cricket) will be key performers along with former Brisbane Heat and Hobart Hurricanes T20 player Dom Michael.

Willans, and Australian Under-19 player, has gained valuable experience this summer as the Brisbane Heat rookie contracted player.

Former Namibian U-19 allrounder Jano Coetzee is another who can emerge from obscurity to make a name in the 10-team national comp that will be live-streamed.

Uni will also boast two sets of brothers – the Carty boys (Tom and Jack) and the Claytons (Jack and Max).

Jack has played Toyota Futures League 2nd XI T20 and four-day matches this season for the Queensland Academy of Sport while Max was a Queensland Under-19 representative.

UQ will play two games in preliminary rounds today, then play-off for finals tomorrow.

Qualification for the tournament was via each of the local State and Territory Premier T20 competitions with the following 10 teams successfully qualifying:

  • Carlton (VIC)
  • Dandenong (VIC)
  • Sutherland, (NSW)
  • Sydney University (NSW)
  • North Hobart (TAS)
  • Tuggeranong Valley (ACT)
  • East Torrens (SA)
  • University of Queensland (QLD)
  • Melville (WA)
  • City Cyclones (NT) 

The day 1 matchups are as follows: 

2019 Fox Cricket NPT20 Day 1 Schedule:

Tuesday 5 March

10:00am Matches:

  • Karen Rolton Oval: Sydney Uni v East Torrens 
  • SACA #1: Sutherland v Tuggeranong Valley
  • SACA #2: Carlton v University of QLD
  • SACA #3: North Hobart v Dandeong 
  • Adelaide Oval #2: Melville v City Cyclones

3.00pm Matches:

  • Karen Rolton Oval: Dandenong v Carlton
  • SACA #1: Sydney Uni v University of QLD
  • SACA #2: City Cyclones v Sutherland 
  • SACA #3: Melville v Tuggeranong Valley
  • Adelaide Oval #2: North Hobart v East Torrens

Match Timings AM 
Toss: 9:15am
Innings 1: 10:00am - 11:20am
Break: 11:20am - 11:35am  
Innings 2: 11:35am - 12:50pm  
Match Timings PM 
Toss: 2:15pm
Innings 1: 3:00pm - 4:20pm
Break: 4:20pm - 4:35pm  
Innings 2: 4:35pm - 5:55pm

How to watch:

The matches on Karen Rolton Oval will be livestreamed on

Livescores can also be followed on

UQ Squad

Name Number
Michael Philipson 7
Jack Clayton 8
Dominic Michael 26
Ben Davis 2
Jano Coetzee 28
Nicholas Sale 5
Mitchell Fry 9
Devon Endersby 4
Tomas Carty 22
Scott Walter 24
Matt Willans 11
Jack Carty 3
Paul Woodford 33
Max Cayton