COVID-19 restrictions have prevented the Cooper-Finlay Cup competition between Queensland and NSW from going ahead in the past two seasons, but this weekend will see preparations step up for the resumption of competition next week in the Beenleigh and Gold Coast regions.

Queensland Veterans Cricket will host the competition, which is played as a “State of Origin” competition between veterans cricket teams from Queensland and New South Wales.

It was created in 2008 with a team of Over 60s players from Queensland, organised by the late Lew Cooper, and a team from NSW arranged by Kevin Finlay playing a match in Tenterfield which was umpired by former Test official Mel Johnson.

Queensland won the first game, with hosting rights alternating between the two States ever since.

Along the way, the Cooper-Finlay Cup has expanded to include men’s Over-50s, Over-55s, Over-65s, and Over-70s teams as well as plans for a women’s Over-40s clash in the future.

This year will feature 16 teams from Queensland and NSW playing over the two days of competition on Monday and Tuesday.

Redlands hosted the last completed competition in 2019, with no play possible in 2020 and last year’s tournament at Tamworth, Gunnedah and Quirindi cancelled after 24 hours due to concerns with COVID and border closures.

Among the venues and clubs to host matches will be Dauth Park at Beenleigh, Springwood, Alberton, Pimpama, Coomera, Helensvale, Runaway Bay, Southport, Queens, Mudgeeraba, Broadbeach, Burleigh, Surfers Paradise and Palm Beach.

Players in the Queensland teams include former State and International representatives, as well as Premier Cricket and Community Cricket stalwarts who have relished the opportunity to resume long dormant careers or simply continue their playing days that now cover decades of matches.

Former Zimbabwean fast bowler Eddo Brandes, ex- Australian professional tennis players Andrew and Mark Kratzmann and former Queensland player Trent Ryan and prolific Toombul allrounder Andrew Knight have been included in the Over-50s and Over-55 teams.

The Kratzmann brothers were both accomplished junior cricketers efore embarking on their tennis careers. Both returned to cricket after tennis, with Mark representing Hong Kong at one point, and have continued to enjoy Veterans Cricket of late.

It will be a family affair for the Kingaroy clan, with father Nev and uncle Brian playing in the Over-70s competitions.

Former Queensland allrounder Keith de Jong will turn out in the Over-65s while the Over-70s squads contain several players, such as Gympie’s Ross Chapman, who played in the inaugural Cooper-Finlay Cup game.

Details and scores from the games will be available at


Over 50's Maroon
Trent Ryan ©
Gavin Brown
Joe Marsh
Andrew Kratzmann
Gary Lovett (VC)
Brian Goodwin
John Short
Troy Dennien
Shane Drummond Hills
Tom Reddicliff
Richard Anderson
William Barrett

Over 50's Gold
Clint Keble ©
Ken Jackson
Greg Morton
Paul Baird
Craig Sweet
Mark Middleton
Damien Meek
Jim Hohnston
Gary Eisenmenger
Sean Kruger
Shane Riley
Mark Irwin

Over 55's Maroon
Andrew Knight ©
Mark Kratzmann
Brian Brix
Graham Gibbs
Eddo Brandes
Paul Keller
Paul Stenhouse
Andrew Reddich (WK)
Paul Matthews
David Short
Rod Venn
Wayne Sleeman

Over 55's Gold
Lachlan Donovan ©
Rick Bean
Warren Dillon
Rod Cartwright
Joe Laffey
Allan Bougore
Mark Horswill
Ash Koralage
Andrew Middleton
Steve Gode
Tony Williams

Over 60's Division 1 Maroon
Mark Brady ©
Keith Brigden
Michael Hurley
Bryan Hurst (WK)
Ken Luxton 
Ross Madsen 
Ken McGrogan (VC)
Scott McIntosh (Man)
Kent Officer
Dave Reuter
Andrew Watson
Ray Zahnow

Over 60's Division 1 Gold
Pat Carty ©
Derek Delaney
Joe Flynn (VC)
Dave Goddard
Richard Johnston
Jan Petersen
Bruce Schmidt (WK)
Trevor Schlein
Mike Frame
Dave Treacher (Man)
Harold Veivers
Andrew Walsh

Over 60's Division 2 Maroon
Tony Carter © (WK)
Gary Copeland
Phillip Hopgood (Man)
Bryan Fulcher
Andrew Hay
Mal Hughes
Roger Lonie
Michael Lynch
Steve Janes (VC)
Martin Ryan
Rob Whittaker
Chris Wilkinson

Over 60's Division 2 Gold
Chris Herdon
Brad Hines
Andrew Ross (VC)
Paul Commadeur
John Fish
Michael McLellan
Doug Meagher (WK)
Brian Olsen
Rob Lowe
Stephen Roberts
Des Steinberg ©
Peter Wright (Man)

Over 65's Division 1 Maroon
Ross Adams ©
Gary Davis
Keith de Jong
John Gardner (WK)
Mick Kettle
Adrian Knell
Mike McGovern (Man)
Kev Meikle
John Milton
Phil Lambert
Phil Van Der Kley
Dave Russell (VC)

Over 65's Division 1 Gold
Dave Dansie
Phil Drescher
Nev Gooch
Barry James (VC)
Nev Maroske
Peter McWhinney
Chris Morton
Darryl Ready (Man)
John Salter
Wayne Sanders
Peter Timms © (WK)
Fred Williams

Over 65's Division 2 Maroon
Jeff Barker
John Bourke ©
Reno Cauz
George Downes
Craig Gardner
Richard Coe
Ian Laycock (VC) (WK)
Des Knight
Rob Mair
Mike Rattenbury
Allan Smith
Greg Searle (Man)

Over 65's Division 2 Gold
Steve Harvey
Ian Coyne
Bob Englebright
Ron Faulks (VC) (WK)
Bob Ford
Jeff Manitzky
Bill Jeffery
Shane Mills
Ian Reimers ©
Terry Seach
Peter Wooldridge
Gary Zealand

Over 70's Division 1 Maroon
Mike Batch
Roger Boyd
Colin Cooke ©
Jim Griffin
Jock McLeod
Ian Petherick
Keith Reynolds
Graham Rose (WK)
John Stackpoole (VC)
AJ Thompson
Ross Towner
Ian World

Over 70's Division 1 Gold
Barry Anderson
Gill Chapman (VC (WK)
Ross Chapman
Ron Davey
Norm Jackson
Jim Coppock
Brian Kratzmann
Nev Kratzmann
Patrick Logue ©
Bob Nolan
Steve Sutherland
Nick Taylor

Over 70's Division 2 Maroon Day 1
Terry Andrews (VC)
Tim Bevan (1 Day)
Merv Brewer
Ron De Souza (1 Day)
Cec Grimmer
Arthur Higgs
Norm Jackson
Glen Jackwitz
Neil Kajewski ©
Des McKeever
Peter Milton
Robin Reisnleiter
Noel Stanley (WK)

Over 70's Division 2 Maroon Day 2
Terry Andrews (VC)
Merv Brewer
Cec Grimmer
Arthur Higgs
Norm Jackson
Glen Jackwitz
Neil Kajewski ©
Des McKeever
Peter Milton
Gary Northern (1 Day)
Gordon Poole (1 Day)
Robin Reisnleiter
Noel Stanley (WK)

Over 70's Division 2 Gold Day 1
Bob Bramble
Ian Leeson
Peter McDonald
Noel McIntyre
Sam Meredith
Hohn Norden
Andrew Pinho
Les Price © (WK)
Phil Regazzoli
Ron Robinson (VC)
Michael Stone
Robert Wilkes

Over 70's Division 2 Gold Day 2
Bob Bramble
John Burns (1 Day)
Ian Leeson
Peter McDonald
Noel McIntyre
Sam Meredith
Hohn Norden
Andrew Pinho
Les Price © (WK)
Phil Regazzoli
Ron Robinson (VC)
Michael Stone
Robert Wilkes