North Queensland club Herbert River won the Junior Initiative of the Year while there were three Queensland-based runners-up at the Cricket Australia National Community Cricket Awards last night.

The Ingham club reaped the benefits of changing their junior cricket competitions to Friday afternoons, with an 84% increase in registered male and female players.

Southern Districts Toowoomba coach Andrew Watson was the runner-up in the Community Coach of the Year award while Warwick’s Greg Payne was the runner-up in the Community Match Official of the Year in recognition of his umpiring and development throughout .

The creation of formal ties between the Garbutt Magpies Indigenous sporting and cultural association and Western Suburbs cricket club in Townsville saw it acknowledged as the runner-up in the Partnership of the Year award.

The partnership facilitated the growth of cricket within the Garbutt Magpies organisation, which now has four Woolworths Master Blasters teams as well as an Under-11s side, with plans to expand to Under-13s and above in future seasons.

Queensland Cricket CEO Terry Svenson said:

“We congratulate our Queensland achievers on their acknowledgement and gratefully recognise the work that they and so many volunteers do in developing cricket in our state.”

“Cricket, like all sports, relies on the time and effort invested by members of the community to ensure positive experiences for all participants. We can’t thank those people enough for their contributions.”

Junior Initiative of the Year

Acknowledging the outstanding delivery of junior cricket experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow junior offerings with a focus on education, fun and social connection.

Winner: Herbert River Cricket Club (QLD)


Community Coach of the Year

A coach who exemplifies coaching the Australian way. Someone who has gone out of their way to make sure that participants are supported to develop both their skills and a lifelong love of cricket.

Runner up: Andrew Watson (QLD)

Community Match Official of the Year

An umpire or match official (such as a scorer) who leads by example in championing safe, fair, and enjoyable cricket for all.

Runner up: Greg Payne (QLD)


Partnership of the Year

Outstanding leadership and support in building community-based partnerships that provide positive outcomes to the cricket community.

Runner up: Townsville Western Suburbs + Garbutt Magpies (QLD)