The final between NSW Magenta and Queensland at Kev Hackney Oval was everything a cricket lover could ask for.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, NSW Magenta looked to continue where they left off in previous games.

Opener Jonah Trope sustained his form with a well-made 50 before being dismissed by Queensland’s strike bowler Carter Pearson.

Woth the score at 2/59 NSW Magenta’s captain Joel Davies strolled to the crease and produced one of the best innings of the Championships with a brilliant 103 including six boundaries and six maximums.

Late order hitting from Farquharson (22) and Salzmann (29*) powered NSW Magenta’s total to 6/273. Pearson was the pick of the bowlers taking 3/49.

In reply, Queensland got off to a positive start with an opening stand of 37, which included Luke Davies (37) seeing off the new bowlers.

Some early wickets from Sam Schembri-Green 3/47 helped stem the flow of runs, putting the pressure on right back on Queensland.

A flurry of wickets left Queensland 6/84 desperately needing a batsman to stand up.

Hugh Weibgen (45) provided stability before being dismissed by Max Becker with a ripping delivery.

Shanuk Karandeniya 3/27 took some crucial wickets in the middle order to all but close out the chance of Queensland successfully chasing down the score.

But then Ethan Hartley arrived at the crease and with all guns blazing, made close to a run-a-ball 73 not out. It wasn’t quite enough to get over the line though, with Queensland falling short by 29 runs.

Three maroons were named in the CA XI squad after the titles, with Luke Davies, Carter Pearson and Tom Balkin chosen.

Cricket Australia XI 

Cooper Anthes (Tasmania)
Carl Arnold (South Australia)
Tom Balkin (Queensland)
Liam Blackford (VIC Country)
Tom Coady (ACT/NSW Country)
Joel Davies (NSW Magenta)
Luke Davies (Queensland)
Gaurav Dogra (NSW Magenta)
Luke Holt (Western Australia)
Vincent Huf (VIC Country)
Ethan Jamieson (NSW Magenta)
Harrish Kannan (VIC Metro)
Harry Lemmy (South Australia)
Carter Pearson (Queensland)
William Salzmann (NSW Magenta)
Nick Stathoris (South Australia)
Nicholas Toohey (ACT/NSW Country)
Sam Voss (Tasmania)
Teague Wyllie (Western Australia)
Patrick Xie (NSW Green)
Award Winners

Player of the Championships: Harrish Kannan (Vic Metro)

Leading Run Scorer: Joel Davies (NSW Magenta)

Leading Wicket Taker: Carter Pearson (Queensland) and Raheel Boston (Vic Metro)

Most Dismissals by a Fielder: Liam Blackford (Vic Country)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Northern Territory