Ipswich Take The Max Win

Ipswich is the 2023-24 KFC T20 Max competition champions, defeating Northern Suburbs on Saturday night in a high quality clash at Allan Border Field.

The Hornets claimed their maiden T20 title in style as they chased down Norths total of 168, finishing 5-169 after 17 overs.

Fans were treated to some stunning fielding and big hitting displays, while bowlers also played a match-defining role, with promising Toowoomba quick Jem Ryan awarded the Andrew Symonds Medal as player of the final.

Ryan (4-35) and fellow paceman Sean Lutter (4-17) helped peg back the Vikings, after Brisbane Heat opener Josh Brown had produced a typically free-flowing innings of 55 from 40 balls and semi-final hero Nikhil Chaudhary scored a quickfire 35 from 18 balls.

Brown fell to a brilliant diving outfield catch by Bryn Llewellyn off Ryan.

Ipswich again benefitted from clean-hittiing at the top of the order, with former IGS star Harry Sheppard and Jack Wood laying the ideal platform for the chase. Sheppard hammered 38 from 18 balls while Wood smacked 42 from 24 balls.

The pursuit was completed in emphatic fashion by wicket-keeper Jake Cross (37 from 19) and long-serving captain Anthony Wilson (24no from 18 balls).

The second installment of the KFC T20 Max competition featured Ipswich and Sandgate-Redcliffe as champions of the men's and women's competitions respectively.

The top five leading runs-scorers and wicket-takers in the men's competition were as follows:


Hugo Burdon (Gold Coast) 379 runs at 75.8
Mackenzie Harvey (Sunshine Coast) 359 runs at 89.75
Jack Wood (Ipswich) 337 runs at 56.17
Scott Palombo (Norths) 308 runs at 61.6
Preston White (Toombul) 282 runs at 35.25


Preston White (Toombul) 16
Lloyd Pope (Redlands) 15
Jack Sinfield (Redlands) 14
Scott Rodgie (Norths) 14
Harmon Sandhu (14)

Sponsor Partners